Roland Dürre
Thursday August 30th, 2012

Wastefulness

IF blog is now in the middle of its Summer Slump. I am staying near the beach for two weeks, seeing to duerre.de. And I add a few “catch phrase articles” to the “keywords”. Today, I will write about “Wastefulness”:

Wastefulness

I am against many things. In particular, I am against wastefulness. It really annoys me.

Except – if I am against wastefulness, I am making myself small. Because then wastefulness is my enemy, lurking behind every corner. Both in the material sense and with respect to time. And it often makes me concerned.

Consequently, I do not wish to be against wastefulness. Instead, I want to be in favour of the opposite. But what is the opposite of wastefulness?

I remember a sentence I heard from Klaus Töpfer: “A system is sustainable in the biological sense if it produces no waste!”. OK, so I define waste and refuse as negative wastefulness.

From this, I could conclude that I would increase sustainability if I minimized negative wastefulness. And I defined for myself that negative wastefulness is the opposite of sustainability. So now I am even more in favour of sustainability.

And I am in favour of positive wastefulness, like nature gives it to us by supplying all this beauty, all those colours and all these varieties of species. Or the wastefulness of humans who give me their love.

RMD
(Translated by EG)

1 Kommentar zu “Wastefulness”

  1. Chris Wood (Thursday August 30th, 2012)

    “so definiere ich Abfall und Müll als negative Verschwendung”. Shame on you Roland as a mathematician for getting your negative and positive mixed up. “negative” does not mean “bad”.

Kommentar verfassen

*

Roland Dürre
Donnerstag, der 30. August 2012

Verschwendung

IF-Blog hat sein Sommerloch. Ich bin für zwei Wochen in Griechenland am Strand und pflege duerre.de. Da ergänze ich die  “Stichworte” um ein paar neue “Stichwort-Artikel”. Gestern waren meine Gefühle zum Thema “Verschwendung” dran.

Verschwendung

Ich bin gegen vieles. Besonders gegen Verschwendung. Die geht mir auf den Wecker.

Nur – wenn ich gegen Verschwendung bin, mache ich mich klein. Weil die Verschwendung mein Feind ist, der einfach überall auf mich lauert. Materiell und in der Zeit. Und mich so häufig betroffen macht.

Also will ich nicht gegen Verschwendung sein, ich möchte für das Gegenteil stehen. Aber was ist das Gegenteil von Verschwendung?

Da erinnere ich mich an einen Satz, den ich von Klaus Töpfer gehört habe: “Im biologischen Sinne ist ein System nachhaltig, wenn es keinen Abfall produziert!”. OK, so definiere ich Abfall und Müll als negative Verschwendung.

Daraus könnte ich schließen, dass ich Nachhaltigkeit mehre, wenn ich die negative Verschwendung minimiere. Und habe für mich festgelegt, dass das Gegenteil von negativer Verschwendung die Nachhaltigkeit ist. Und bin jetzt noch mehr für Nachhaltigkeit.

Und bin genauso für die positive Verschwendung, wie sie uns die Natur mit ihrer Schönheit, ihren Farben und ihrer Vielfalt schenkt. Oder die Verschwendung der Menschen, wenn sie mir ihre Liebe geben.

RMD

Be Sociable, Share!

1 Kommentar zu “Verschwendung”

  1. Chris Wood (Donnerstag, der 30. August 2012)

    „so definiere ich Abfall und Müll als negative Verschwendung“. Shame on you Roland as a mathematician for getting your negative and positive mixed up. „negative“ does not mean „bad“.

Kommentar verfassen

*