Roland Dürre
Thursday February 2nd, 2012

About the Integration and Other Summits

Yesterday, I heard about the integration summit. And my no longer existing hair stands on end.

Another one of those summits. A short time ago, I attended the IT summit, I constantly hear about the E12 and EU summits, I just suffered a summit at Davos and was invited to a design summit and an entrepreneur’s summit. There seems to be no end to summits!

🙂 The only thing I am waiting for now is the PM summit (PM = Project Management) If it happens, I will start crying.

And yesterday, they had the summit of (or for) integration!

I dislike both parts of the compound word. Choosing the word summit for a conference means you meet right at the top. Only the top representatives of a sector are invited. The “elite” does some small-talk and further promotes their mutual “biases” (perception failure, detachment from reality). The air is thin and the reality value is at a minimum. Far away and hidden behind a layer of clouds.

The reports about the summits of this world only provide us with statements that are self-evident or else stupid. You never find inter-disciplinary knowledge, openness, experience, awareness of problems or a sense of reality.

This “summitting” reminds me of groupthink  (Gruppendenken – introduced in 1972 by the psychologist Irving Janis). That is how psychologists call a situation where a poor or unrealistic decision is made by a group of basically competent persons, because every individual person adopts the opinion he or she imagines to be the general opinion of the group.  And that is far from a healthy process for generating useful knowledge. Especially not if we are talking the phase prior to an important decision.

I often got the impression that with every barcamp I attended the results got more sensible and constructive.
And then they even go so far as to couple the word summit with the word integration. In Germany, we had the “anti-word“ guest worker. And now there is a new one: integration. Integration is not defined in german wikipedia as a linguistic unit! I feel there is a good reason for this. The only times the term integration is mentioned are is in the field of technology and as the title of a newspaper!

So, please, be careful if you use the word integration along with cultures, nationalities, religions and social developments. The very word integration suggests that something different has to be fit into something you already have. And more often then not, what you mean is: into the dominant culture (Leitkultur). That, too, is an “anti-word“. You will, however, find it in wikipedia. Among other things, you can read there

“… but from 2000, the term figured prominently in the national political debate in Germany about national identity and immigration (Zuwanderung). The term then became associated with a monocultural vision of German society (Multikulturalismus), with ideas of European cultural superiority, and with policies of compulsory cultural assimilation“

Well, it reminds me of the Erlkönig:
“I love you; I’m charmed by your beautiful form And if you’re not willing, then I’ll use force“.

Maybe the ladies and gentlemen in politics should be advised to organize a language summit in order to start thinking about catchwords they use on a daily basis in order to stun us. I can easily come up with a few more.

RMD
(Translated by EG)

Kommentar verfassen

*

Roland Dürre
Donnerstag, der 2. Februar 2012

Vom Integrations- und anderen Gipfeln

Gestern habe ich vom Integrations-Gipfel gehört. Und mir stehen die nicht mehr vorhandenen Haare zu Berge.

Wieder so ein Gipfel. War ich doch vor kurzem beim IT-Gipfel, höre laufend vom E12- und EU-Gipfeln, habe gerade den Gipfel von Davos ertragen und bin vor kurzem zum Design-Gipfel und einem Unternehmer-Gipfel eingeladen worden. Es wird “gegipfelt” ohne Ende!

:-) Mir fehlt nur noch ein PM-Gipfel (PM = Projekt Management), dann beginne ich zu schreien.

Und gestern war der Gipfel zur (oder der) Integration!

Beide Worte gefallen mir nicht. Den Begriff Gipfel für eine Konferenz zu wählen, das heißt doch, dass man sich ganz oben trifft. Nur die Spitzen der jeweiligen Branche sind dabei. Die “Elite” macht Smalltalk und bestärkt sich gegenseitig ihrer “biases” (Wahrnehmungsstörung, Realitätsverlust). Die Luft ist dünn und die Realität unten im Tal. Weit weg und durch eine Wolkenschicht verborgen.

Die Berichterstattung von den Gipfeln dieser Welt liefert nur selbstverständliche oder blödsinnige Statements. Interdisziplinäres Wissen, Offenheit, Erfahrung, Problembewusstsein oder Realitätssinn findet man nicht.

Das „Gegipfele“ erinnert mich an Gruppendenken (Groupthink. 1972 von dem Psychologen Irving Janis eingeführt). So nennt man in der Psychologie eine Situation, in der eine Gruppe von eigentlich kompetenten Personen schlechte oder realitätsferne Entscheidungen trifft, weil jede Person ihre eigene Meinung an die vermutete Gruppenmeinung anpasst. Und das ist alles andere als ein gesunder Prozess zur Generierung von nützlichem Wissen. Besonders nicht im Vorfeld wichtiger Entscheidungen.

Oft habe ich den Eindruck, dass bei jedem barcamp, an dem ich teilgenommen habe, die Ergebnisse sinnvoller und konstruktiver waren.

Und dann wird Gipfel auch noch mit Integration verheiratet. Wir hatten in Deutschland das “Unwort” Gastarbeiter. Und jetzt kommt ein neues, die Integration. Integration ist als sprachlicher Begriff in Wikipedia nicht definiert! Wie ich meine aus gutem Grunde. Integration finde ich dort nur als Begriff in der Technik und als Namen einer Zeitung!

Also Vorsicht, wenn wir Integration im Zusammenhang mit Kulturen, Nationalitäten, Religionen und gesellschaftlicher Entwicklung in den Mund nehmen. Im Wort Integration steckt doch schon die Botschaft, dass irgendetwas Anderes in etwas Vorgegebenes hinein muss. Und oft wird hier gemeint: in die Leitkultur hinein. Auch das ist ein „Unwort“, welches wir aber in Wikipedia finden. Dort steht unter anderem:

“Ab dem Jahre 2000 wird der Begriff in entstellter Weise in der politischen Diskussion im Zusammenhang mit dem Themenkomplex Zuwanderung und Integration von Einwanderern, bzw. als Gegenbegriff zum Multikulturalismus verwendet.”

Ich muss dann an den Erlkönig denken: „Ich liebe dich, mich reizt deine schöne Gestalt; Und bist du nicht willig, so brauch’ ich Gewalt.“

Vielleicht sollten die Damen und Herren der Politik mal einen Sprachgipfel machen, um über die Schlagworte nachzudenken, mit denen sie uns täglich erschlagen. Da fallen mir dann noch ein paar mehr ein.

RMD

Be Sociable, Share!

Kommentar verfassen

*