Roland Dürre
Saturday May 3rd, 2008

From Ottobrunn to Unterhaching #2 (Bike/Train/Car)

Continued: My personal experiences on the way to work:

From my home to Unterhaching and back by bike is about 12 kilometres. With a good bike, this costs about 20 cent/km (counting the original investment, wear and tear on tyres, chain, sprockets, maintenance and repair work). If you need a garage for all repairs, you may have to spend more.

Bike:

Costs: 12 km à 20 cent 2.40 EURO (not counting increased wear and tear on clothes).

Time: roughly 45 minutes for the round trip.

Advantages and disadvantages: Once in a while it rains. How much of a pleasure the ride is depends strongly on the weather, but with time you get used to cold and rain. A tuxedo definitely has not been designed to withstand cycling.

There is more than one way to get from Ottobrunn/Riemerling to Unterhaching. Besides the bike, I could choose the car, public transport, inline-skating or jogging.

Usually, the car is a little faster than the bike, though not necessarily during the rush hour. The costs are subject to your personal view. If I only count the diesel (since I have a car, anyway), then it is rather inexpensive. Take into consideration that the distance by car is a little longer than by bike, let’s say 13 kilometres. With my car, I need about 6-7 litres per 100 kilometres, which means about 1 litre for the round trip. That costs 1.40 € (as of May, 2008). A full-cost calculation would give around 35 cents per kilometre, which means 4.55 Euros for the round trip. Since we have spacious underground parking at InterFace (mostly for our guests), there is no need for me to spend ages looking for a parking place.

Car:

Costs: only diesel 1.40 Euros/ full costs 4.55 Euros (without Interface parking, 40 Euros per month).

Time: about 40 minutes for the round trip

Advantages and disadvantages: Occasional traffic jams, no exercise, but I remain warm and dry. Sometimes I get downright aggressive having to wait yet again at a red traffic light. Getting no exercise would also mean that I would have to pay for a fitness club in the evening.

By the way, there is another motorized alternative: my C1 by BMW. It is a pure object of desire, needs less gas and is something I definitely relish. Except for my conscience whispering: “You might as well go by bike”.

If I want to use public transportation, I can take the local train. From my home to Ottobrunn station is exactly seven minutes on foot. The S6 takes 11 minutes to Giesing, where I would have to wait 10 minutes until the connecting S5 takes me to Unterhaching in another 6 minutes. After five minutes on foot from Unterhaching station to the InterFace building, I would arrive after 27 minutes on trains and on platforms plus 12 minutes walking

S-Bahn:

Costs: two single tickets 4.40 Euros, if I take the strip ticket (4 strips for 1.05 Euros each), it is 4.20 Euros.

Time: 78 minutes for the round trip (provided the train arrives on schedule!?)

Advantages and disadvantages: You can read in the train. There are times when the train is overcrowded and I do not get a seat. On the platform in Giesing, it can be rather windy while waiting for the connecting train. And the problem of punctuality; in the Munich area, the reliability of the train service varies a lot. And if you miss the connecting train in Giesing, then you have to wait another 20 minutes.

Comparing the various means of transport is quite interesting. It may motivate others to start thinking about it. For me, the bike clearly wins, and public transport (unfortunately) comes in last.

In theory, I could also cover the distance between home and office jogging, inline-skating, or by taxi. I never tried the taxi, but jogging and inline-skating are real luxuries. I can do this occasionally because of the beautiful shower room in the basement of the InterFace building and because clean clothes hang in my office wardrobe.

RMD

Translation by Evelyn Gemkow

Kommentar verfassen

*

Roland Dürre
Samstag, der 3. Mai 2008

Von Ottobrunn nach Unterhaching #2 (Rad/MVV/AUTO)

Hier die Fortsetzung meiner Reflektionen zu meinem Arbeitsweg:

Wenn ich von zu Hause mit dem Fahrrad nach Unterhaching fahre sind es hin und zurück 12 km. Ein gutes Fahrrad kostet durchaus um die 20 cent/km (Abschreibungen auf Anschaffungspreis, Verschleiß wie Reifen, Kette, Ritzel, Wartung und Reparaturen). Wenn man die notwendigen Arbeiten nicht selber ausführt, kommt man auch ganz schneller drüber.

Fahrrad:

Kosten: 12 km à 20 cent 2,40 EURO (ohne erhöhten Kleider-Verschleiß)

Zeitbedarf: von Tür zu Tür ca. 45 Minuten.

Vor- und Nachteile: Ab und zu werde ich nass. Der Genussfaktor ist vom Wetter abhängig. Aber man gewöhnt sich auch an Regen und Kälte. Und der Anzug leidet unter Radfahren.

Man kommt nicht nur mit dem Fahrrad von Ottobrunn/Riemerling nach Unterhaching. Ich kann auch das Auto nehmen, öffentlich fahren, Inline Skaten oder Joggen.

Mit dem Auto geht ein wenig schneller als mit dem Fahrrad. Zur Rush-Hour kann es aber auch länger dauern. Die Kosten sind eine Frage der Betrachtung. Rechne ich nur den Diesel (das Auto habe ich ja sowieso), dann ist es billig. Autoweg ist ein wenig weiter, also 13 km. Auf 100 km brauche ich so zwischen 6 und 7 Liter, also 1 Liter. Das macht 1,40 (Dieselpreis 2. Mai in Ottobrunn). Wenn ich eine Vollkostenrechnung mache, dann bin ich vielleicht bei 35 cent den Kilometer, also 4,55 EURO. Da wir bei InterFace eine geräumige Tiefgarage haben (vor allem auch für unsere Gäste) brauche ich keinen Parkplatz suchen.

Auto:

Kosten: Nur Diesel 1,40 EURO / Vollkostenrechnung 4,55 EURO (ohne von InterFace gestellten Parkplatz – 40 EURO im Monat)

Zeitbedarf: von Tür zu Tür ca. 4o Minuten

Vor- und Nachteile: Gelegentlich stehe ich im Stau, keine Bewegung, dafür warm und trocken. Und das stehen vor den Ampeln macht mich manchmal aggressiv. Keine Bewegung, müsste dann Abends ins Fitness-Studio.

Die motorisierte Alternative zum Auto ist übrigens mein C1 von BMW, ein reines Lustobjekt. Braucht ein bisschen weniger Benzin und macht richtig Spaß. Aber da kommt dann das schlechte Gewissen: „Du könntest auch Radfahren“.

Wenn ich öffentlich fahren will, dann nehme ich die S-Bahn. Von zu Hause zum Bahnhof in Ottobrunn brauche ich genau 7 Minuten. Die S6 fährt in 11 Minuten nach Giesing, dort habe ich 10 Minuten Aufenthalt und fahre mit der S5 in 6 Minuten nach Unterhaching. Vom Bahnhof Unterhaching zu InterFace sind es 5 Minuten. Macht dann zusammen 27 Minuten reine Fahrt und Umstiegszeit und 12 Minuten Fußweg.

S-Bahn:

Kosten: 2 Einzelfahrkarten 4,40 EURO, mit Streifenkarte (4 Streifen à Euro 2,10)4,20

Zeitbedarf: Hin und zurück und von Tür zu Tür 1:18 Stunden (wenn S-Bahn pünktlich!?)

Vor- und Nachteile: In der S-Bahn kann man lesen. Zu gewissen Zeiten ist sie überfüllt und ich muss stehen. In Giesing beim Umsteigen ist es ab und zu sehr zugig. Und das Problem mit der Pünktlichkeit. Die Zuverlässigkeit der S-Bahn im Münchner Raum ist doch sehr unterschiedlich. Und wenn man den Anschluss in Giesing verpasst, dann wartet man halt auch mal 20 Minuten.

So ein Vergleich ist doch mal ganz interessant, vielleicht regt er zum Nachdenken an. Bei mir gewinnt das Fahrrad mit deutlichem Abstand, der öffentliche Verkehr landet (leider) auf dem letzten Platz.

Ich kann auf meinem Arbeitsweg auch Joggen, Inline Skaten oder Taxifahren. Taxifahren habe ich noch nie ausprobiert. Joggen und Inline Skaten ist aber der Luxus pur. Kann ich mir gelegentlich leisten, weil wir bei InterFace eine schöne Dusche im Keller haben und bei mir immer ein sauberer Anzug mit Zubehör im Schrank hängt.

RMD

Kommentar verfassen

*