Roland Dürre
Wednesday August 23rd, 2017

Why We Need Christophine! (II)

Why We Need Christophine! (I)

That is what I wrote on July, 12th. It was a few days after I, at the age of 67, was permitted to once again attend primary school. At Christophine. And it makes me very happy how much encouragement I received after having published my article.

This is how I make the experience that my criticism about how children world-wide are “educated” and “instructed” more than a loner’s issue. Because if we talk school, we mostly mean that a young person is “trained” or “formatted” – and the appreciation of the child is totally neglected.

How you can treat children with respect and give them space to learn and experience life under their own control and highly motivated is exactly what I was allowed to see on June, 23rd in Marbach on the river Neckar. Here is my report:

On this Friday, I was part of the class for half a day. Being a nervous new student, I was, naturally, very early. And I enjoyed how the boys and girls arrived one after the other. All of them were in a good mood and joyful – apparently they were quite happy to go to school.

As soon as the class was complete, they all sang a song together. The song was a welcome in many languages – so we shared looking forward to the day.

After the song, the first round of this Friday morning went to the children. They told the class about an experience that had been important to them. One of the children moderated the round – each day, this task is assigned to a different child.
A self-made cardboard box was handed from narrator to narrator – it had a green circle on one side and a red circle on the opposite side. As long as a child spoke, the listeners were shown the red side (Please do not talk, listen to me!).

As soon as the narrator was finished and questions were allowed, the box was turned around and everybody saw the green side (Now your questions and comments are welcome!).

It was great to see how nice and short both the narratives and the questions and answers were. How the children paid attention while listening and letting everybody say all they wanted to say. I had to think of all the brutal chaos I so often experienced during many discussions with grown-ups (meetings with very important persons) …

The second round was about planning the work ahead. The children decided what they wanted to do during the rest of the morning. I was quite surprised to see the high degree of motivation shown by the children and how realistic they were about evaluating their own competence, which is what they then based their activities on.

At the Christophine, nobody is forced to sit down. That is why all the children wear very soft-soled shoes, because they do not want to disturb others when they work. Because that is an important right. You can also demand it (Please do not disturb me while I am working!). You can work in groups or individually, depending on what makes sense to you. And if the weather is fine, you can also work outdoors.

It stroke me that, at the Christophine, there is an order that serves everybody. It is not seen as a constraint.

Instead, it is seen as something that allows a successful social setting. Nor is it self-serving. Instead, it creates a workspace that allows a reasonable treatment both for yourself and together with others.

The language at this school is full of mutual respect – and I would call it “altero-centric”. The children listen, let others finish and relate to what the other child wants. This is very rare among adults. Consequently, I saw a surprising degree of true and violence-free communication at this school. I saw how people relate to each other as I do not often see it with grown-ups.

Naturally, there was also a conflict situation. However, this situation was not waltzed over by teachers, nor was anybody punished. The quarrelling parties (one was a boy, the other a girl) were advised to deal with the conflict situation in a reasonable way. And when it became difficult, the two young people were invited to retreat and solve their problem in private. And when, later on, they went to the village fountain and both put their hands under water, the conflict was over.

And whenever the grown-up world came to mind, I had tears in my eyes. Yes, Rupert Lay was quite right when he said that children are wise creatures. And that we, the parents and teachers, sacrifice their wisdom on the altar of education.

And I also believe that we have actually made progress, for instance through the Montessori School ( Montessori Schule) concept. But that is not enough for me. What we need is many free and self-organized schools with a modern concept. Without indoctrination and central rules.

Now I enjoy the Greek sun. And I wonder what I can do for Christophine.

In my current life phase, I try to find my own peace and multiply my love. Because this is the basis of everything else. I spend a lot of time helping mentees (while they study and when they start their professional careers) and young entrepreneurs (with their start-ups). This is because I want them to become more successful and happier in their lives.

I support young mothers on their way back into work by helping them to write “alternative cv-s” (telling them to describe what they can and wish to do, instead of what they did in the past).

With friends of mine, I founded barcamps and PM Camps and similar events in order to make the concepts of “new ideas” and “breaking patterns” more popular. All the time, I am busy building networks for people in general in order to make them stronger and greater together. And I try to live a mobility that makes sense and I express my desire for peace.

And some of it actually seems to work out quite well. That is something that really makes me a little happier.

But would it not be better to invest my time and strength by helping the very small and weak people? Our children and grandchildren. As I see it, they are worse off each year, because they are robbed of their freedom and indoctrinated more and more due to so-called practical constraints. Just because you want them to become nice citizens and
consumers.

Basically, our society wants the very best, but then they could not do a worse job if they tried. Unfortunately, our children are the best example for this. Consequently, should it not be my main goal to do something for our children? To make them feel big, instead of small? And to give them a chance towards getting the best start for a successful life as free and autonomous persons?

Well, those are the typical ideas you get during a wonderful time-out.

RMD
(Translated by EG)

P.S.
The “Marbacher Pädagogik“ by Lorenz Obleser is something I consider a match for the modern concept we need. In my article “Christophine III”, I will try to formulate something with him and other protagonists of Christophine in the IF blog.

Kommentar verfassen

*

Roland Dürre
Mittwoch, der 23. August 2017

Warum wir Christophine brauchen! (II)

Das habe ich am 12. Juli geschrieben. Ein paar Tage nach dem ich als mittlerweile 67-jähriger wieder mal zur Grundschule gehen durfte. Und zwar in der Christophine. Und ich bin so froh, dass ich zu diesem Artikel so viel Zuspruch bekommen habe.

So erlebe ich, dass ich mit meiner Kritik an der Art und Weise, wie Kinder weltweit „erzogen“ und „gebildet“ werden nicht alleine stehe. Denn bei Schule geht meistens ums „dressieren“ und „formatieren“ eine jungen Menschen – und dabei bleibt der Respekt vor dem Kinde auf der Strecke.

Wie man mit Kindern respektvoll umgeht und ihnen den Raum gibt, selbst gesteuert und motiviert zu lernen und zu erleben, das ist genau das, was ich am 23. Juni in Marbach am Neckar erleben durfte. Hier mein Bericht:

Ich war an diesem Freitag einen halben Tag Teil der Klasse. Als nervöser neuer Schüler war ich natürlich ganz früh da. Und konnte mich freuen, wie die Schüler und Schülerinnen der Reihe nach eintrudelten. Es waren lauter gut gelaunte und fröhliche Kinder – die sich offensichtlich freuten, in der Schule angekommen zu sein.

Sobald die Klasse komplett war, wurde gemeinsam ein Lied gesungen. Das Lied bestand aus einer Begrüßung in vielen Sprachen – gemeinsam haben wir uns beim Singen auf den Tag gefreut.

Nach dem Lied gehörte an diesem Freitag die erste Runde den Kindern. Sie berichteten von einem Erlebnis, das ihnen wichtig war. Eines der Kinder war der Moderator der Runde – jeden Tag übernimmt diese Aufgabe ein anderes Kind.

Erzähler zu Erzähler ging eine gebastelte Pappkiste – die auf der einen Seite eine grüne und auf der anderen eine rote Scheibe hatte. Solange ein Kind sprach, dann zeigte den Zuhörern die rote Seite (Bitte seid still und hört mir zu!). Wenn es dann fertig war und Fragen erlaubte, drehte es die Schachtel um zeigte die grüne Seite (Jetzt dürft Ihr fragen und kommentieren!).

Es war toll, wie wohltuend kurz sowohl die Berichte wie dann auch die Fragen und Antworten waren. Wie die Kinder sich gegenseitig konzentriert zuhörten und ausreden ließen. Ich musste an das brutale Chaos denken, dass ich so oft bei so vielen Erwachsenen-Besprechungen (Meetings mit ganz wichtigen Leuten) erlebt habe …

Die zweite Runde gehörte der Arbeitsplanung. Die Kinder überlegten sich, mit welchen Tätigkeiten sie den weiteren Vormittag verbringen wollten. Ich war verblüfft, welch hohes Maß an Motivation die Kinder einbrachten und wie realistisch sie ihr eigenes Können bewertet und danach ihr Tätigkeiten ausgerichtet haben.

An der Christophine gibt keinen Sitz-Zwang. Deswegen tragen die Kinder leises Schuhwerk, damit sie die anderen Kinder nicht bei der Arbeit stören. Denn das ist ein wichtiges Recht, dass man auch einfordern darf (Bitte störe mich nicht bei meiner Arbeit!). Man arbeitet in Gruppen oder alleine – so wie es Sinn macht. Und wenn das Wetter passt geht es auch im Freien.

Mir ist aufgefallen, dass es in der Christophine eine Ordnung gibt, die für alle da ist. Die nicht als Zwang empfunden wurde, sondern eine gelingende Sozialität ermöglicht. Und die nicht Selbstzweck ist, sondern nur einen Rahmen gibt für einen vernünftigen Umgang mit sich selber und in der Gemeinschaft mit den anderen.

Die Sprache in der Schule war voller gegenseitigem Respekt – und wie ich sagen würde „alterozentriert“. Die Kinder können zu hören, waren in der Lage andere ausreden zu lassen und auf die Anliegen des Anderen einzugehen. Das ist so selten bei den Erwachsenen. So habe in dieser Schule ein erstaunliches Maß von redlicher und gewaltfreier Kommunikation zwischen Kindern erlebt! Ein „Aufeinander-Eingehen“, wie ich es im Erwachsenen-Leben nur selten wahr nehme.

Natürlich gab es auch einen Konflikt. Die wurde aber nicht von den Lehrern platt gemacht und herunter gebügelt. Die Streihähne (eins davon war ein Huhn) wurden angeleitet, vernünftig mit dieser Konfliktsituation umzugehen. Und wie es schwierig wurde, durften sich die jungen Kontrahenten zurück ziehen und ihr Problem unter vier Augen besprechen. Und spätestens als sie zum nahe gelegenen Dorfbrunnen gingen und ihre Hände ins Wasser gehalten haben, war der Konflikt bewältigt.

Und immer, wenn ich an die oft erlebte Erwachsenen-Welt denken musste, dann kamen mir die Tränen. Ja, der Rupert Lay hatte schon Recht, wenn er sagte, dass Kinder weise Wesen wären. Und wir, die Eltern und Lehrer, ihre Weisheit auf dem Altar der Erziehung opfern würden.

Und ich glaube auch, dass es durchaus Fortschritte gibt, wie z.B. in der Montessori Schule. Aber das ist mir zu wenig. Was wir brauchen sind doch viele freie und selbst organisierte Schulen mit einem zeitgemäßen Konzept. Ohne Indoktrination und zentrale Vorgaben.

Jetzt genieße ich die Sonne Griechenlands. Und überlege, was ich für die Christophine tun kann.

In meinem aktuellem Leben versuche ich meinen eigenen Frieden zu finden und meine Liebe zu mehren. Weil das die Voraussetzung für alles andere ist. Ich verbringe viel Zeit damit, Mentés (im Studium und beim Berufsstart) und jungen Unternehmern (geschäftlich beim Start-Up) zu helfen. Damit sie in ihrem Leben erfolgreicher und glücklicher werden.

Junge Müttern unterstütze ich bei ihrem beruflichen Wiedereinstieg, in dem ich Ihnen helfe einen „alternativen CV“ zu schreiben (Das was sie können und tun möchten beschreiben an Stelle das, was sie getan haben).

Mit Freunden habe ich Barcamps wie PM-Camp und ähnliche Veranstaltungen ins Leben gerufen, um „Neues Denken“ und „Muster Brechen“ populär zu machen. Ich vernetze laufend Menschen ganz allgemein, damit sie gemeinsam stärker und größer werden. Und versuche eine sinnlose Mobilität vorzuleben und meinen Wunsch nach Frieden Ausdruck zu verleihen.

Und manches davon scheint sogar ganz gut zu klappen. Das macht mich durchaus selber ein wenig glücklicher.

Aber wäre es nicht sinnvoller, meine Zeit und Kraft vor allem für die ganz Kleinen und Schwachen zu investieren? Unseren Kindern und Enkeln. Denen es nach meiner Meinung jedes Jahr ein wenig dreckiger geht, weil sie immer mehr wegen vermeintlicher Sachzwängen ihrer Freiheit beraubt und indoktriniert und werden. Damit sie brave Bürger und Konsumenten werden.

Unsere Gesellschaft meint es ja immer so gut, macht es aber dann gnadenlos schlecht. Leider sind unsere Kinder das beste Beispiel dafür. Sollte deswegen es nicht mein Hauptziel werden, für die Kinder zu wirken? Dass diese nicht klein sondern groß gemacht werden? Und sie als freie und autonome Menschen die bestmöglichen Voraussetzungen haben ein gelingendes Leben zu führen?

Also ganz typische Gedanken, wie ich man sie halt in einer wunderschönen Auszeit so hat.

RMD

P.S.
Die „Marbacher Pädagogik“ von Lorenz Obleser halte ich für so etwas wie das von mir geforderte zeitgemäße Konzept. Ich werde versuchen, im Artikel „Christophine III“ auch hier im IF-Blog dann gemeinsam mit ihm und weitern Protagonisten der Christophine dazu etwas zu formulieren.

Kommentar verfassen

*