Roland Dürre
Friday August 19th, 2011

What Annoys Me … #11 Coupons and Discount Battles

Currently, there is another discount and coupon phobia under way. Almost on a daily basis, I receive snail mail with special offers. The daily newspaper has advertisements with coupons and promises of discounts attached to it. They come from all sorts of shops: clothes shops, sports shops, furniture shops, special shops. Of course, they also come from department stores.

A discount of 10, 20 or 30 % on all products is quite normal, even if we are talking products that had already been reduced. At ths sports shop, you can see price tags on jackets that say “Minus 30 %” – and then there is an additional discount of 20 %. And, of course, what I buy will be registered on my customer’s card, which means another 5 % off for the next time I go shopping.

When I buy clothes, I get an extra shirt when I buy one. If I buy two pairs of shoes, the third one will be free. The furniture store sends me an avalanche of coupons. 20, 50, 100, 200, even 500 € – dependent on the value of what I buy. The offer is for whatever I want – including brand-name products. And then I get a gift of my choice on top of it. I might for instance choose a toaster, an egg boiler, or similar items.

Enterprises where I never even was a customer offer me a “fidelity bonus”. Lufthansa invites me to book South America Specials, the railway advertises cheap city tours. Either the prices are unbelievable, or else there is an immense discount.

Whenever I open my account at Ebay or other internet business platforms, I also find tons of coupons.
Often, I do not find it easy to remain steadfast against all these temptations.

That makes me angry.

I find it the opposite of respectable. In some way or other, I think good products must also have their price. And that an honest transaction means that the price should be appropriate for the product. The margins should also remain realistic, instead of so steep that the prices can be lowered to one’s hart’s content. And “stinginess-is-great-persons” should not be indirectly subsidized by “I-want-this-now-shoppers”.

Wouldn’t it be nice if products had real prices, honestly calculated on the basis of what development and production cost, including a reasonable margin? Instead of tricky price processing where you count on the reflexes of the consumers who are considered nothing better than animals.

But globalized Late Capitalism probably saw to it that all these things got a little jumbled up. Or else, my ideas are perhaps just outdated.

What do I do about it?

First and foremost, I am at a loss. I always try the same method – buy as little as possible.
And if at one time I decide that I need a new special biker’s jacket, after all, then I adapt to the system and wait shamelessly until I get it for 100 €, instead of the original 400 €.  – And I could not care less if it is last year’s fashion.

Shame on me!

RMD
(Translated by EG)

2 Kommentare zu “What Annoys Me … #11 Coupons and Discount Battles”

  1. Chris Wood (Friday August 19th, 2011)

    roland, I agree entirely. What is the matter with me?

  2. rd (Monday August 22nd, 2011)

    Great – I love you! Greetings from Greece – it’s wonderful.

Kommentar verfassen

*

Roland Dürre
Freitag, der 19. August 2011

Was ich nicht mag … #11 Gutscheine und Rabattschlachten

Zurzeit ist wieder der Rabatt- und Gutschein-Wahnsinn angesagt. Fast täglich bekomme ich Post mit Sonderangeboten. Der Zeitung liegen Werbebeilagen mit Gutscheinen oder Rabattversprechen bei. Von Bekleidungs-, Sport-, Möbel- und Spezialgeschäften aller Art. Natürlich auch von Kaufhäusern.

Da sind 10, 20 oder 30 % auf alles ganz normal, auch auf schon reduzierte Ware. Im Sportgeschäft hängen an den Jacken Schilder mit „Minus 30 %“ und zusätzlich gibt es noch mal 20 %. Und natürlich wird der Umsatz auf meine Kundenkarte angerechnet, das heißt noch mal 5 % in Form eines Einkaufsgutschein für die nächsten Einkäufe.

Bei Bekleidung bekomme ich beim Kauf von einem Hemd ein zweites dazu. Wenn ich zwei Paar Schuhen kaufe gibt es  ein drittes gratis. Das Möbelgeschäft schickt mir eine ganze Gutschein-Lawine nach Hause. 20, 50, 100, 200, ja sogar 500 € – abhängig von der Summe meines Einkaufs. Auf alles – auch auf Markenartikel. Und dann bekomme ich auch noch ein Geschenk meiner Wahl dazu. In der Auswahl sind Toaster, Eierkocher und ähnliches.

Unternehmen, bei denen ich noch nie eingekauft habe, bieten mir einen „Treue-Bonus“ an. Die Lufthansa bietet mir Südamerika-Specials an, die Eisenbahn die billige Städtereise. Entweder zu unglaublichen Preisen oder mit sattem Abschlag.

In meinen Kennungen bei Ebay und anderen Internet-Handelsplattformen stapeln sich auch die Gutscheine.

Es fällt oft nicht leicht, den Verlockungen und der Sucht nach Schnäppchen zu widerstehen.

Das ärgert mich.


Ich finde das alles nicht seriös. Irgendwie denke ich mir, dass gute Ware doch ihren Preis haben muss. Und dass bei einem ehrlichen Geschäft der Preis dem Wert der Ware entsprechen sollte. Die Margen sollten auch realistisch sein. Und nicht so hoch, dass man die Preise beliebig senken kann. Und „Geiz-ist-Geil-Menschen“ sollten nicht von „Begehrlichkeitskäufern“ quer subventioniert werden.

Es wäre doch schön, wenn Waren reale Preise hätten, die neben den für Entwicklung und Produktion notwendigen ehrlich kalkulierten Kosten eine vertretbaren Marge enthalten. Und nicht mit trickreichet Preisgestaltung auf archaische Reflexe des Konsumviehs spekuliert wird.

Aber das hat der globalisierte Spätkapitalismus wohl alles durcheinander gewirbelt. Oder ist mein Anspruch schlichtweg nicht mehr zeitgemäß.

Was mache ich?

Zuerst bin ich ratlos. Versuche immer dasselbe – möglichst wenig kaufen.

Und wenn ich mir dann aber doch eine neue Schöffel-Jacke fürs Radeln und „outdoor“ wünsche, dann passe ich mich dem System an und warte schamlos und dreist, bis ich die Jacke an Stelle von 400 € für 100 € bekomme. – Und wenn es das Modell vom letzten Jahr ist, dann ist mir das auch egal.

Ich schäme mich!

RMD

Be Sociable, Share!

2 Kommentare zu “Was ich nicht mag … #11 Gutscheine und Rabattschlachten”

  1. Chris Wood (Freitag, der 19. August 2011)

    roland, I agree entirely. What is the matter with me?

  2. rd (Montag, der 22. August 2011)

    Great – I love you! Greetings from Greece – it’s wonderful.

Kommentar verfassen

*