I already wrote about the Schlecker insolvency. But the “schleck” continues.

Many of the German states have now negotiated the continuation of the remaining branches of the ailing chain. As always, the leading argument was that jobs must be saved.

That Annoys Me!

To be sure, a small minority of states refused the rescue investments. This might be painful for the employees, but it is probably the right decision.

I never understood why all the drugstores had to extend their product range in such an extensive way. Consequently, I also never understood why they could have been such a success. Especially if these drugstores were situated right next to the discount shops where you, basically, could get everything you need for personal hygiene.

For me, drugstores have always been the embodiment of a perverse combination of body-cult and consumption prurience. But the multitude of “stylish” products with their empty promises of beauty, nice smells and sexual success and whatever else they offered simply appealed to the “consumers”.

That made these chains money presses. With an unbelievable expansion speed, they generated billions of profits for their owners. It does not matter if they were called DM, Müller, Rossmann or Schlecker, all they sold was basically crude oil in the shape of over-expensive organic chemical products, dressed in extravagant packing and re-named hygiene articles. Well, it was plastic waste multiplied.

Now one of them is finished. One that never enjoyed the best of reputations. One for which probably there is no longer room on the market. And everybody starts lamenting and demanding money in order to preserve jobs. And the citizens are supposed to pay for it!

A short time ago, the consumption temples of a department store chain were suffering. The building supply stores will be next (you can already hear whispers about the “Praktiker” dynamically increasing its yearly loss on a high level (SZ). Another one of those former gold-mines that made their owners rich by selling cheap junk.

Neither do I have any confidence in the XXL furniture shops with their mega unethical price structures. They, too, are nothing but “Cheapies”, cheating their customers with inexpensive products for the bulky waste and super discounts.

Should we really rescue all the ailing department stores, discount stores, drugstores, building supply stores and furniture stores with our tax money? Or will there be a second rescue umbrella for the internal consumption?

So what do I do against it?

I try to reduce my consumption to a minimum! And I ask people not to buy all the rubbish they see. Instead, they should start thinking, before buying!

And if I really need something urgently (which, incidentally, happens rather seldom), then I buy quality.

So what else annoys me about today’s news?

The report about the solution they found for Müllerbrot, which certainly was also painful but probably the wrong solution. The fact that the EURO rescue umbrella is to be extended to one billion Euros, the confirmation by the SZ that the great statistics concerning the unemployment are really rather sugar-coated…

And I secretly do the calculations about how long it will take until the gas bubble in the North Sea will reach the small light burning on top of the drilling platform and when there will be the great POUFF.

So here we go – into the rain …

RMD
(Translated by EG)

Kommentar verfassen

*

Die Insolvenz von Schlecker habe ich berichtet. Aber die Schleckerei geht weiter.

In vielen Bundesländern wurde jetzt verhandelt, wie man die verbleibenden Filialen der maroden Kette weiterführen kann. Wie immer mit dem Argument, dass man die Arbeitsplätze retten müsse.

Das ärgert mich!

Zwar hat ja eine kleine Ländermehrheit die Rettungsinvestitionen abgelehnt. Schmerzhaft für die Mitarbeiter aber wahrscheinlich richtig.

Die ausufernden Angebote der Drogeriemärkte habe ich nie verstanden. So auch deren Erfolg nicht. Besonders wenn diese Drogerie-Märkte neben Discountern liegen, die ja im Prinzip alles, was man so für die Körperpflege brauchen könnte, auch anbieten.

Drogeriemärkte verkörperten für mich schon immer die perverse Kombination von Körperkult und Konsumgeilheit. Aber die Vielfalt des Angebots von „stylischen“ Produkten mit ihren leeren Versprechungen von Schönheit, Wohlgerüchen, sexuellem Erfolg und was noch so alles hat es halt den „Konsumenten“ angetan.

So wurden diese Ketten zu Maschinen zum Geld drucken. Mit einem unvorstellbarem Expansionstempo generierten sie Milliardengewinne für ihre Eigentümer. Gleich ob sie DM, Müller, Rossmann oder Schlecker geheißen haben, verkauft haben sie eigentlich nur Erdöl, in Form von überteuerten organischen Chemieprodukten, durch übertriebene Verpackungen verkleidet als Körperpflegemittel. Also Plastikmüll hoch zwei.

Jetzt erwischt es einen von ihnen. Einen, der nie die beste Presse hatte. Einen, der im Markt wahrscheinlich keinen Platz mehr hat. Und alle beginnen zu weinen und fordern Geld, um die Arbeitsplätze zu erhalten. Und die Bürger sollen dafür bezahlen!

Vor kurzem waren es noch die Konsumtempel einer Kaufhauskette, die in Not waren. Bald sind es die Baumärkte (man hört schon jetzt munkeln, dass der „Praktiker“ seine Jahresverluste auf hohem Niveau dynamisch erhöht (SZ). Auch so eine ehemalige Goldgrube, die ihre Eigentümer mit billigem Ramsch reich gemacht hat.

Dem Frieden bei den XXL-Möbelgeschäften mit ihren mega-unseriösen Preisstrukturen traue ich auch nicht. Das sind doch auch „Billigheimer“, die ihre Kunden mit billiger Ware für den Sperrmüll und Superrabatten rein legen.

Sollen wirklich alle maroden Kaufhaus-, Discounter-, Drogerie-, Baumarkt- und Möbelketten mit unseren Steuergeldern gerettet werden? Oder gibt es dann einen zweiten Rettungsschirm für den Binnenkonsum?

Und was mache ich dagegen?

Ich versuche meinen Konsum auf das Minimum zu reduzieren! Und fordere alle Menschen auf, nicht jeden Mist zu kaufen. Sondern vorher ein wenig nachzudenken!

Und wenn ich wirklich etwas mal dringend brauche (kommt eigentlich eh nur noch ganz selten vor), dann kaufe ich Qualität.

Und was ärgert mich noch in den heutigen Nachrichten?

Die Nachrichten von der sicher auch schmerzhaften aber wohl falschen Lösung bei Müllerbrot, dass der EURO-Rettungsschirm auf eine Milliarde ausgebaut werden soll, dass die SZ bestätigt, dass die tollen Arbeitslosenzahlen wirklich zumindest stark geschönt sind …

Und rechne mir klammheimlich aus, wie lange es dauert, bis die Gas-Bubble in der Nordsee das kleine Lichtlein an der Spitze der Bohrinsel erreicht und wann es dann PUFF macht.

Also – ab in den Regen …

RMD

Kommentar verfassen

*