Roland Dürre
Saturday July 30th, 2011

What Annoys Me … #6 Writing Texts in Word

At one time, we at InterFace also wrote a text system. It was called HIT and powered by CLOU. It was a truly great software and a huge success. The HIT turned into a true hit, because it was simple and easy to use. And there were the CLOU components. They were an enormous help to the people as they did their work.
HIT, however, was not wysiwyg (What you see is what you get). Microsoft came and dominated the office world. Along with Windows, the graphic dislays became popular on a large scale. Now the users thought they all had to have a desktop publisher in order to write simple letters. Consequently, HIT had to go. And the world got Word.
I used to do a lot of programming. My favourite was “vi”. Today, I no longer write any programs. Instead, I write a lot more texts. However, I hardly use Word or OpenOffice these days. After all, there are so many simply editors. You get them on Linux, on the Mac or integrated into web applications. Then there is google. There is nothing you cannot do with google!

Consequently, I only take the pains of using a “word processor” (the very term is an abomination) when I need to be “process compatible”. And I hardly ever use that kind of software. An example would be if I have to write minutes.

Mind you, OpenOffice is hardly better than Word. The generic problems are identical: both tools can do everything, but nothing works perfectly. Word is not the only program that is painfully illogical in the eyes of a programmer.

Both tools are always good for surprise effects. You will easily get lost in a net of complexity the exit of which is sometimes hard to find without destroying your document.

What is it I dislike about it?

Having to write with Word or OpenOffice myself! Or having to watch others do it. More often than not, having to watch hurts more than doing it myself. Especially if I remind myself of all the work time wasted. I also find the cursing I hear from neighbouring offices after a ”Word Accident“ quite a nuisance. Because, again, the “word processor” has its own idea about what it wants to do, which is not identical with the user’s idea.

What do I do about it?

Whenever I have to work with a “word processor”, I use as few functions as possible. I do not take risks and avoid experiments. Neither will I create huge documents. I fight the mega tool with minimalism.

If I need a quick text, I mostly use the Mac TextEdit. I rather like HTML editors, for isntance the integrated WordPress editor. To be sure, it is not faultless, neither is it wysiwyg. But at least I have little trouble. I can formulate withouth much of an effort and I (almost) always get what I want.

Whenever I hear Word users curse, I do not listen. Whenever I see someone struggling with Word or OpenOffice, I leave the room and the victim to his or her destiny. This is how I also avoid actually saying all the cynical things that already form on my tongue. Even if it is hard to keep quiet.

I am a little nostalgic about no longer having the old tools. Even the much-despised “vi”, along with nroff and troff was a wonderfully logical tool. In those days, you could use them to create fast and precise document at unheard of speed. Even “doculitity” (is that how it was called?) in the BS 2000, supported by  EDOR or EDT (do you still know them?) were more efficient than Word and OpenOffice (which, incidentally, is no longer all that open at all).

TeX was and still is the most efficient tool for demanding diploma and doctorial theses. In particular, the use of TeX for preparing presentations or proposals would drastically reduce time and strain when you have to work big and elaborately structured documents. But the poor colleagues prefer labouring with Word and then having to spend an unnecessary night or an entire weekend at the office, just in order to win the battle against the ”word processor“ before the deadline.

But this kind of idea is probably just too revolutionary. And before you all call me a crackpot, I will stop now.

RMD
(Translated by EG)

Kommentar verfassen

*

Roland Dürre
Samstag, der 30. Juli 2011

Was ich nicht mag … #6 Texte mit Word schreiben

Bei InterFace haben wir selbst mal ein Textsystem geschrieben. Das war der HIT, bestens angetrieben vom CLOU. Eine klasse Software, die ein großer Erfolg wurde. Der HIT wurde zum Hit, denn er war einfach und leicht zu nutzen. Und es gab die CLOU-Bausteine, die den Menschen bei der Arbeit unheimlich geholfen haben.

Der HIT war aber nicht wysiwyg (What you see is what you get). Microsoft kam und dominierte die Bürowelt. Mit Windows setzten sich die grafischen Oberflächen auch in der Breite durch. Die Anwender meinten, sie müssten jetzt einen Desktop Publisher zum Briefe schreiben haben. So musste der HIT weichen. Und die Welt hat Word bekommen.

Früher habe ich viel programmiert. Am liebsten mit „vi“. Heute schreibe ich keine Programme mehr aber um so mehr Texte. Word oder OpenOffice verwende ich aber kaum mehr. Denn es gibt so viele einfache Editoren. Auf Linux, dem Mac oder integriert in Web-Anwendungen. Google gibt es auch noch. Dort kann man eh alles machen!

So liefere ich mich einem „word processor“ (das Wort ist schon grauenhaft) nur noch aus, wenn ich „prozesskompatibel“ sein muss. Und nutze solche Software nur noch selten, zum Beispiel zum Schreiben eines Protokolls.

Wobei OpenOffice auch nicht viel besser ist als word. Es hat dasselbe generische Problem: Beide Werkzeuge können zwar alles, aber deshalb nichts gescheit. So ist nicht nur Word so etwas von unlogisch, dass es einem ehemaligen Programmierer weh tut.

Beide Werkzeuge sind immer für überraschende Effekte gut. Ganz schnell verfängt man sich in einem Netz von Komplexität, aus dem es nicht immer einfach ist, wieder mit heilem Dokument heraus zu kommen.

Was mag ich nicht?

Selbst mit Word oder Open Office schreiben zu müssen! Oder anderen dabei zuschauen zu müssen. Das Zuschauen tut oft noch mehr weh. Besonders wenn ich mir überlege, wie viel Arbeitszeit da kaputt geht. Auch das Fluchen aus Nachbarzimmern nach einem „Word-Unfall“ finde ich unangenehm. Weil der „wordprocessor“ mal wieder macht, was er will, aber nicht was der Nutzer will.

Was mache ich dagegen?

Wenn ich selbst mit einem „word processor“ arbeiten muss, dann nutze ich immer nur möglichst wenig Funktionen. Ich gehe kein Risiko ein und vermeide Experimente. Und erstelle auch keine großen Dokumente. Mit Minimalismus trotze ich dem Mega-Werkzeug.

Für den schnellen Text verwende ich meistens den TextEdit vom Mac. HTML-Editoren mag ich gerne, wie z.B. den integrierten Editor in WordPress. Der ist zwar nicht frei von Fehlern und auch nicht wysiwyg. Aber zumindest habe ich wenig Stress, ich kann mühelos formulieren und es kommt (fast) immer raus, was ich will.

Beim Fluchen der Word-Nutzer höre ich weg. Wenn ich sehe, wie sich jemand mit word oder OpenOffice quält, verlasse ich den Raum und überlasse das Opfer seinem Schicksal. So vermeide ich auch die zynischen Bemerkungen, die mir auf den Lippen liegen. Auch wenn es mir schwer fällt.

Den alten Werkzeuge trauere ich ein bisschen nach. Selbst der von vielen gehasste „vi“ gemeinsam mit nroff und troff war ein wunderbares und logisches Werkzeug. Damit konnte man damals in unerreichtem Tempe schnelle und präzise Dokumente erstellen. Sogar „doculitity“ (hieß das so?) im BS 2000 unterstützt von EDOR oder EDT (wer kennt sie noch?) war effizienter als word und OpenOffice (das übrigens gar nicht mehr so offen ist).

TeX war und ist das effiziente Werkzeug für anspruchsvolle Diplom- und Doktorarbeiten. Gerade der Einsatz von TeX für die Erstellung von Verträgen oder Angebote würde in Unternehmen viel Zeit sparen und gewaltig den Stress mit großen und aufwändig strukturierten Dokumenten reduzieren. Aber da quälen sich die armen Kollegen mit Word herum und müssen dann manche Nacht unnötig im Büro verbringen oder am Wochenende nachsetzen, um den Termin im Kampf gegen den „word processor“ zu schaffen.

Aber so ein Vorschlag ist wahrscheinlich zu revolutionär. Und bevor ich als Spinner abgetan werde, höre ich lieber auf.

RMD

Be Sociable, Share!

Kommentar verfassen

*