Roland Dürre
Thursday May 10th, 2018

What Tools do Leaders Need?

Roland explains SCRUM. Not SCRUM tools! It has been some years.

A short time ago, I read the article that was supposed to answer the question:

”What tools does a product owner need?“

It was a long article. Quite a few reasonable things can be found in said article and it is not bad. Much of it sounded thought through.

However, the more of it I read, the less comfortable I felt. Because somehow or other, it did not seem to be correct. To be sure, tools can certainly be useful once in a while. But today, we use so many tools that, more often than not, we do not see the wood for all the trees.

Consequently, I asked the “tool question” for other white collar jobs from my professional world:

“What tools does a scum manager need, a project manager, a quality manager, a requirement engineer or a leader in general, who today is also called manager and who even needs to be know “digital leadership“?
(You all know my reservations about all these buzzwords you can formulate as you wish by using the words digital, smart, manager, leadership, project and others of the kind.)
And I feel confirmed that we believe too much in tools. They are not really all that useful and they mostly distract us from what is really important – which is hard enough to find.

As a next step, I tried to remember what role tools have had in my life. I can no longer remember the tools I worked with when I built sand castles. At school and at university, however, I used (my) handwriting and books. In some few cases, there was a pair of compasses, a ruler, a slide rule, a logarithmic table and, once, the typewriter (when I wrote my diploma thesis).

The bicycle was extremely important – without it, I would not have been able to reach the school. Yes – I almost forgot – in mathematics, my common sense was also necessary.

Immediately after my intermediate exams, in the early 1970ies, I started programming for Siemens as a working student (at TUM, it had been more like playing games). I became a software engineer.

My tools were programming forms and paper. I also had one of the famous Siemens pressure pens the secretaries were always so reluctant to hand over. The form had 80 columns that were printed following the assembler syntax.

Incidentally, the assemblers for the Siemens Series 300 process computers were called “prosa”.


🙂 Warning: the following part is for experts, for instance programmers.

If I remember correctly, then the first 8 columns on the form were for the “jump marks”, also called “labels“. Then there were special columns where, among other things, you marked if the left or the right accumulator was to be used. The last 8 columns (numbers 73 to 80) were for numbering. When starting a new program, you were well advised to execute it in a hundred steps, which left room for extra additions. Column number 72 was for the start of the next card. This, or something like it, was how you did it.

With the pressure pen, I drew some sorts of “process images” onto the white paper, and then I transferred these into orders on the form. Then, some assistants transferred the form into punch cards. There was one punch card for each line. The line was typed twice. First the holes were punched and then, during the second phase, the punched card was controlled. This is how the program was created as a series of punch cards.

A box or at least a rubber band for the punch cards were also important tools. Later, I was also given a portable punching machine, because I was allowed to patch corrections when seeing a customer. This was a huge distinction and I was truly proud of it.

Additionally, I had another tool of a totally different category. It was the thin and very well-structured Siemens calendar (for the OFK, the upper leadership, it was leather bound).

That was all and it was totally sufficient as far as tools are concerned. I still remember how, at the time, I bought a luxury tool from my private funds. A Texas Instruments wonder calculator. But that was more of a hobby and not really necessary – which is why I had to pay the approximately 600 DM from my own pocket. But my enthusiasm, and apparently also my income, were huge enough to cover it.

This calculator offered the octal (numbers 0 – 9) the se-decimal, and also the hexa decimal system (with numbers 0 – F – where numbers 0 – 9 were extended with A, B, C, D, E and F) and also made all the transformations. It was occasionally a useful tool, but above all it was something you could really show off with.

Please note what goes without saying: 
Of course, all calculators were based on the binary system and could only compute zeros and ones. They used the binary system (0 and 1). The first “dumps” were only zeros and ones and we needed to be able to read them.

Since in the binary system the notation tends to become rather lengthy, they quickly established bigger units that consist of two half-words, the bytes. For the process calculators, the “word” had 2 times 3 bits (so the byte still had three digits), whereas most other systems had the basic unit 4 Bit (= 1 Byte). The languages with the three bits were octal, those with the four bits se-decimal.

Consequently, the dumps became smaller and, depending on the assembler, consisted of the numbers 0 to 7 or 0 to 9, extended by the letters A – F.
To this day, I remember that one of the assemblers I programmed had the se-decimal word 07FF (binary expression: 0000 1110 1111 1111) for the machine command “release control”. I forgot everything else.


🙂 Here comes more for managers.

Later, I replaced the Siemens calendar with an “Löhn Kalender” It was a small ring binder (also rather expensive) with many compartments that more or less had the functions of today’s outlook. You could buy it in plastic or real leather. It did not take long before I had the leather version. This tool supported my lengthy metamorphosis from being a programmer to being a manager/entrepreneur.

There was a huge disadvantage to the “Löhn” calendar: it could not talk. Consequently, I missed appointments in my life as a manager because I was so fascinated with my work as a programmer that I never realized how quickly time had flown.

This is why I did not remain faithful to the “Löhn” calendar and substituted it with an electronic assistant. It was a Texas Instruments device that used to be part of the Electronic Organizer family (Personal Organizer).

Its functions were fewer than those of the “Löhn”, but it could make a wake-up noise. Thus, I always heard it when, shortly before my appointments, it gave a bleep, which meant that my arrival on time for my appointments was drastically improved. And if you compare the price with that of my TI calculator for octal, decimal and se-decimal calculations, the small miracle system was almost cheap.

Incidentally, these devices were later combined to become the, also new, mobile telephone. For me, the mobile phone and the organizer are something like the father and mother of our modern “Smart Phone“.

So much on my own tool history, which later continued with the use of my laptop, airbook and tablet.

What tools does a leader need?

This question is about as silly as asking: “what tools does a cook need?”, without mentioning what the cook is supposed to cook. The only answer I can think of is: “his common sense and probably a kitchen knife”.

The correct question would be what tools will a person need in order to prepare a certain meal. If I want to feed my guests cheese fondue, then this is totally different from potato dumplings or fried chicken or raspberry ice cream or goulash out of the tin! If I want cheese fondue, then the most important ingredient is high-quality cheese with the right taste (which is also true for Swabian Käs-Spatzen). And the right wine. And the right white bread. As you see, it is not the tools that make the difference, but the ingredients!

Now you might counter that you cannot really compare a leader personality with a cook. Because, after all, the latter is a craftsman who, in the end, will serve something tangible and hopefully reasonable.

So we are looking for a job that comes closer to that of a leading personality? The pastor comes to mind. It is probably a better fit, because you do not get a result you can eat. The same is true for the manager.

SO: What tools does a pastor need?

I would say:
The bible and his spectacles if he cannot see too well any more. But perhaps, today, he has a bible download on his tablet. And if he needs an excel, then he made a mistake. Just like the leader.

RMD
(Translated by EG)

Kommentar verfassen

*

Roland Dürre
Donnerstag, der 10. Mai 2018

Welche Werkzeuge brauchen Führungskräfte?

Roland erklärt SCRUM. Aber keine SCRUM-Werkzeuge! Ist auch ein paar Jahre her.

Vor kurzem habe ich einen Artikel gelesen, der die Frage beantworten wollte:

„Welche Werkzeuge braucht ein Product Owner?“

Es war ein langer Artikel. Es stand manch Vernünftiges drin und er lies sich gar nicht schlecht. Vieles klang gut überlegt.

Mir jedoch wurde beim Lesen immer unwohler. Weil das alles irgendwie nicht gestimmt hat. Werkzeuge können sicher auch ab und zu mal nützlich sein. Aber mittlerweile haben wir haben so viele Werkzeuge im Einsatz, dass wir oft vor „lauter Bäumen den Wald nicht mehr sehen“.

So habe ich mir die „Werkzeug-Frage“ dann für andere Weiße-Kragen-Berufe aus meiner fachlichen Welt gestellt. Also:

„Welche Werkzeuge braucht ein Scrum Manager, ein Projekt Manager, ein Quality Manager, ein Requirement Engineer oder ganz allgemein eine Führungskraft, die man heute ja auch gerne als Manager bezeichnet und die zurzeit ja sogar „digital leadership“ beherrschen muss?“
(Meine Skepsis zu diesen „buzzwords“, die man aus digital, smart, manager, leadership, project und weiteren Begriffen dieser Art beliebig kombinieren kann, ist ja bekannt.)

Und ich fühle mich bestätigt, dass wir zu sehr an Werkzeuge glauben. Die bringen nicht wirklich viel und lenken uns vom Wesentlichen ab, das eh schon schwer genug zu finden ist.

Im nächsten Schritt habe ich mir über überlegt, welche Rolle Werkzeuge in meinem Leben gespielt haben. An das Spielzeug im Sandkasten kann ich mich nicht mehr erinnern. In der Schule und im Studium allerdings habe ich (meine) Handschrift und Bücher genutzt. In wenigen Fällen kamen der Zirkel, das Lineal, der Rechenschieber, die Logarithmen-Tafel und einmal die Schreibmaschine (bei der Diplom-Arbeit) zum Einsatz.

Wichtig war das Fahrrad , um überhaupt in die Schule zu kommen. Ja – und fast hätte ich es vergessen – im Bereich der Mathematik war noch der Verstand von Nöten.

Gleich nach dem Vordiplom habe ich Anfang der 70iger Jahre als Werkstudent beim Siemens mit dem Programmieren (das an der TUM war mehr so Spielerei) angefangen und bin zum „Software-Ingenieur“ geworden.

Da waren meine Werkzeuge „Programmier-Formulare“ und weißes Papier. Weiter hatte ich einen der berühmten Druck-Bleistifte von Siemens, mit denen die Abteilungs-Sekretärin immer so knauserten. Die „Formulare“ hatten 80 Spalten, sie waren der Assembler-Syntax folgend bedruckt. Der Assembler für die Prozessrechner der Serie 300 von Siemens hatte übrigens den netten Namen „Prosa“.


🙂 Vorsicht: Jetzt wird es ein wenig fachlich, eher so für Programmierer.

Wenn ich mich richtig erinnere waren die ersten 8 Spalten auf dem Formular den „Sprungmarken“ vorbehalten, die auch „labels“ hießen. Dann kamen Sonderspalten, in denen markiert wurde, ob der linke oder der rechte Akkumulator benutzt wurde und ähnliches. Die letzten 8 Spalten (73 bis 80) dienten der Nummerierung, die man zu Beginn eines neuen Programms tunlichst in 100-Schritten tätigte, damit noch Platz für Einfügungen blieb. Spalte 72 war für den Stern für die Folgekarte. So oder so ähnlich war das.

Mit dem Druck-Bleistift habe ich auf das weiße Papier so eine Art „Ablaufbilder“ gemalt und dann diese in Anweisungen im Formular umgesetzt. Hilfspersonal hat dann die Formular in Lochkarten umgesetzt, für jede Zeile wurde eine Lochkarte gestanzt. Zweimal wurde die Zeile abgetippt. Zuerst wurden die Löcher gestanzt und im zweiten Lauf die gestanzte Karte kontrolliert. So entstand das „Programm“ als Lochkartenstapel.

Wichtige Werkzeuge waren auch die Schachtel oder zumindest ein Gummi den Lockartenstapel. Später bekam ich zusätzlich ein portables Handgerät zum Stanzen von Lochkarten, weil ich vor Ort beim Kunden Korrekturen „patchen“ durfte. Das war eine große Auszeichnung, auf die ich richtig stolz war.

Zusätzlich hatte ich noch ein weiteres Werkzeug von einer ganz anderen Kategorie. Das war der dünne und sehr übersichtliche Siemens-Plastik-Kalender (für den OFK – Oberen Führungskreis gab es diesen in Leder).

Das war es und das war völlig ausreichend an Werkzeugen. Ich erinnere mich noch, wie ich mir damals vom privaten Geld ein Luxus-Werkzeug gekauft habe. Einen Wunderrechner von Texas Instrument. Der war allerdings mehr ein Hobby und nicht zwingend notwendig – deshalb musste ich die zirka 600 DM  auch selber bezahlen. Aber meine Begeisterung und offensichtlich auch mein Einkommen waren groß genug.

Dieser Taschenrechner konnte im oktalen (Ziffern von 0 – 7), dezimalen (Ziffern von 0 – 9) und sedezimalen, auch hexadezimal genannten Zahlensystem (mit Ziffern von 0 – F – da wurden die Ziffern 0 – 9 um A, B, C, D, E und F)“  rechnen  und die Zahlen in umwandeln konnte. Das war ein ab und zu nützliches Werkzeug, aber vor alle ein Teil mit dem man so richtig angeben konnte.

Etwas Selbstverständliches als Hinweis:
Alle Rechner hatten natürlich eine binäre Basis und konnten nur mit Nullen und Einsen rechnen. Sie nutzten das binäre Zahlensystem (0 und 1). Die ersten „Dumps“ bestand nur aus Nullen und Einsen, und den mussten wir lesen können.

Da im binären System die Notation ziemlich länglich wird, wurden schnell größere Einheiten gebildet, die Worte die aus zwei Halbworten, den Bytes bestanden. bei den Prozessrechner das „Wort“ 2 mal 3 Bits (das Byte hatte also nur 3 Stellen), die meisten anderen Systeme hatten aber als  Grundeinheit 4 Bit (= 1 Byte). Die Sprachen mit den 3 Bits wurden oktal notiert, die mit den 4 Bits sedezimal.

So wurden die Dumps kürzer und bestanden je nach Assembler aus den Ziffern 0 bis 7 oder von 0- 9 verlängert um die Buchstaben A – F.

Ich weiß noch heute, dass in irgendeinem der Assembler, den ich programmiert habe, das sedezimale Wort 07FF (binär 0000 1110 1111 1111) die Maschinenanweisung für „Release Control“ war. Den Rest habe ich vergessen.


🙂 Weiter wieder für Manager.

Später habe ich den Siemens- durch einen „Löhn-Kalender“ ersetzt. Das war ein (auch sündhaft teures) kleines Ringbuch mit vielen Fächern, das so in etwa die Funktionen von Outlook vorwegnahm. Es gab es in Plastik und in echtem Leder. Ich hatte sehr schnell die Lederausgabe. Dieses Werkzeug unterstütze meine langjährige Metamorphose vom Programmierer zum Manager/Unternehmer.

Der „Löhn-Kalender“ hatte einen großen Nachteil – er konnte nicht reden. So habe ich Termine in meinem Manager-Leben verpasst, weil ich in meinem Programmierer-Leben so von meiner Arbeit gefesselt war, dass ich nicht merkte, wie die Zeit vergeht.

So bin ich dem „Löhn-Kalender“ untreu geworden und habe ihn gegen einen elektronischen Helfer ausgetauscht. Das war ein Gerät von Texas Instruments, das früher einer Familie von „Electronic Organizer“ (Personal Organizer). Und der konnte zwar weniger als der „Löhn“ – aber er konnte Piepsen. So hat er mich vor meinen Terminen gut vernehmbar angepiepst, so dass sich mein pünktliches Erscheinen zu vereinbarten Besprechungen drastisch verbesserte. Und verglichen mit meinem TI-Rechner für oktales, dezimales und sedezimales Rechnenfast war das kleine Zaubersystem fast schon billig.

Diese Geräte wurden übrigens später mit dem auch neuen Mobil-Telefon (Handy) gekreuzt. Handy und Organizer und sind für mich so etwas wie Vater und Mutter vom heutigen „Smart Phone“.

Soweit meine eigene Werkzeuggeschichte, die dann mit Laptop, Airbook und Tablet weiter ging.

Was für Werkzeuge braucht eine Führungskraft?

Diese Frage ist in etwa so albern wie wenn man fragt: „Welche Werkzeuge braucht ein Koch?“. Ohne auszusagen, was der Koch denn überhaupt kochen soll. Die einzige Antwort, die mir da einfällt ist: „Seinen guten Menschenverstand und wahrscheinlich ein Messer“.

Die korrekte Frage wäre doch, welche Werkzeuge braucht ein Mensch für die Zubereitung eines bestimmten Gerichtes. Wenn ich meinen Gästen ein Käse-Fondue reichen will ist das doch etwas ganz anderes als Kartoffel-Knödel, ein gegrilltes Hähnchen, ein Himbeereis oder ein Gulasch aus der Dose! Beim Käse-Fondue ist das Wichtigste (wie übrigens auch bei Käs-Spatzen) ein hochwertiger Käse mit dem richtigen Geschmack! Und den passenden Wein. Und das richtige Weißbrot. Man sieht, nicht auf die Werkzeuge kommt es an sondern auf die Zutaten!

Jetzt könnten Sie einwenden, dass der Vergleich zwischen einer Führungskraft und einem Koch hinkt. Weil Zweiterer ja ein Handwerk betreibt, bei dem etwas Handfestes und hoffentlich Vernünftiges raus kommt.

So suchen wir einen Beruf, der dem der Führungskraft näher steht? Mir fällt der Pastor ein. Der passt vielleicht besser, denn da kommt ja hinten auch nichts raus, was man essen kann. Wie beim Manager.

ALSO: Was für Werkzeuge braucht der Pastor?

Ich würde sagen:
Die Bibel und eine Brille, wenn er nicht mehr so gut sieht. Aber vielleicht hat er heute die Bibel auf seinem Tablet. Und wenn er ein Excel braucht, dann macht er etwas falsch. So wie die Führungskraft.

RMD

Kommentar verfassen

*