bild0205The number of flight passengers and in particular the airborne freight tonnage has undergone a considerable decline. One of the reasons for this is the “World Economical Crisis”. “Our Lufthansa”, too, has to put planes on standby.

Now there is a new threat on the horizon for the airborne freight and its airlines: due to the “Mexican Pig Influenza”, another decline of passengers must be expected.

And people already start talking about a crisis for airlines and here and there calling for federal support.

Is this what we have come to? If there is a positive side to the current development (and perhaps there are quite a few positive sides to it), then maybe the fact that people fly less is it. Even if – according to yesterday’s press release – entire nations such as Australia seem to have forgotten about it entirely, we should not discard the climate goals that have been commonly agreed to.

And without reducing air traffic considerably, we will not even have a chance of coming close to achieving these goals. That is why we should not let the hard-won climate goals fall victim to the world economical crisis.

Thus, the decline of air freight is first and foremost a logical development. We, however, lament and – which is worse – insist on further infrastructural projects for air traffic. For instance, building the runway at Munich Airport is still on the agenda. This means that – against better judgement – the gigantic abuse of scenery by road-building continues also in Bavaria.

Isn’t that a pity? Where has the much-praised mental reform process gone?

RMD
(translated by EG)

Kommentar verfassen

*

bild0205Die Anzahl der Flugreisenden und besonders die Tonnage in der Luftfracht sind stark gesunken. Eine Ursache dafür ist die „Weltwirtschaftskrise“. Auch „unsere“ Lufthansa muss Flieger still legen.

Jetzt droht der Luftfahrt und ihren „Airlines“ neuer Unbill: es droht ein weiterer Rückgang bei den Flugreisenden, verursacht durch die „Mexikanische Schweinegrippe“.

Und schon wird von der Krise der Luftfahrtgesellschaften gesprochen und vereinzelt auch schon nach staatlicher Hilfe gerufen.

Kann denn das alles noch wahr sein? Wenn es etwas Gutes an der derzeitigen Entwicklung gibt (und vielleicht gibt es ganz schön viel Gutes daran), dann doch auch, dass weniger geflogen wird. Wir sollten – auch wenn laut gestrigen Presseberichten ganze Nationen wie Australien dies vergessen zu scheinen haben – unsere vereinbarten Klimaziele nicht ganz aus den Augen verlieren.

Und ohne eine Reduktion des Flugverkehrs werden wir gar keine Chance haben, auch nur in Richtung dieser Ziele zu kommen. Deshalb dürfen wir der Weltwirtschaftskrise nicht den mühsam erreichten Konsens bei den Klimazielen opfern.

So ist der Rückgang der Luftfahrt zuerst mal eine folgerichtige Entwicklung. Wir aber jammern über ihn, und noch schlimmer, halten am Bau weiterer Infrastruktur für den Luftverkehr fest.  So wird an dem Bau der dritten Startbahn am Flughafen München unbeirrt festgehalten. Und so geht der gigantische Landschaftsverbrauch auch in Bayern mit sinnlosem Zubetonieren von Landschaft gegen besseres Wissen weiter.

Ist das nicht traurig? Wo bleibt das viel beschworene Umdenken?

RMD

Kommentar verfassen

*