Roland Dürre
Saturday October 13th, 2012

Who is Scared of the Boogey Man?

Everybody is scared of the “Cloud”. Because the Boogey Men inside the Cloud eat our data and/or use them in an illegal way. Our precious personal data!

It is particularly bad if the Cloud is outside our country. After all, there is no control possible. The US secret service might well read our data. However, matters are not really improved if the Cloud sits (hovers over) Germany. Perhaps the US secret service cannot read our data in that case, but the German secret service certainly will. And, basically, I do not care which secret service reads my data.

Why are we feeling so protective of our data? I cannot understand it. Nothing has as little importance in my life as my data. If there is anything you wish to know about me, just go ahead and ask! It will be my pleasure to answer – even publicly. Most of the things about me will be found at duerre.de or if-blog.de, anyway.

If I were the anxious type, I would certainly be scared of Clouds. But I mean totally different Clouds. Those I am actually dependent on. Those that are the basis for all I truly need in order to survive.

Water

Water comes through the tap. It gives me access to the water Cloud. It is rather insecure, isn’t it? Evil-doers could pour poison in it at many places. To be sure, we only know the poison terror at the water station from the cinema – but it could easily become reality. An evil terrorist would be all it takes to kill us all.

Bottled water from the supermarket will not help, either. This Cloud, too, has too many weak points. An evil-doer would easily find ways in. Today, hardly anybody still has his or her own well. Incidentally, it would not help, because the Cloud of dioxins or radioactivity is already on its way to poison it, anyway.

Nor is it a brilliant idea to drink beer instead. Too often, it comes from the InBev Cloud. And on a rather risky way at that. Until finally it ends up in the safe haven of my refrigerator.

Food

All food, be it deep-frozen, corn, all kinds of basic nourishment, vegetables and fruit, fish or meat, canteen food: all comes from the Cloud. And once in a while, something unfortunate happens there. Sometimes the Cloud produces chicken that contains a little dioxin, sometimes it is the deep-frozen strawberries. They come from China and make our children sick. I certainly cannot understand why we in Germany would need to eat deep-frozen strawberries from China. After all, there are enough apples, pears, plumes… right here in the country. But the Cloud makes it possible. And certainly not from the neighborhood.

But we trust in the Cloud. It will certainly feed the entire world and continue to do so tomorrow, as well …

Energy

Electrical energy comes from the electrical socket. It is the interface to the Cloud. The fuel comes from the pump at the gas station. When the Cloud will no longer supply us with electrical energy, the lights go out. When the pump at the gas station provides only drops, the cars will just stand around and be useless.

We do not know where the electrical energy or the fuel originated. Neither do we want to know. The Cloud will certainly provide. With or without an about-face in energy politics. Besides, energy is, after all, not quite as important as water or food. Nothing serious is happening if the electrical energy is sometimes polluted.

Money

You cannot eat money. For life, it is even less important than energy. Most of us have too much, anyway. Which is why we buy all kinds of useless things we do not really need. Whatever is left of our money will be stored at the bank. That is how we learned it! For too many years, we have been instructed that the only person hiding her money in her socks or underneath the sofa is the stupid grandmother. No! Apparently, we think the money Cloud is very nice and even system relevant. And consequently, we hand our entire money over to it. Because we want the Cloud to let our money work for us. And when we do not have enough money, we go and get it there.

Water, food, energy, money and much more comes from the Cloud. Basically, I cannot imagine anything today not coming from the Cloud. And still we have no problems sleeping soundly …

Only when our data are inside the Cloud, we cannot sleep any more. Why is that so? Are we scared of our data? Why are we so afraid that others might get to know who we really are? Do our data remind us of our evil deeds? Quasi like a modern bad conscience?

I must confess that I generally fail to understand the sometimes collective sometimes individual hysterical reaction when it comes to personal data. And, to me, it does not matter if these data are in the Cloud or somewhere else. I still have quite a few plans for my life. But I would never, ever agree to do the job of data protection commissioner.

RMD

(Translated by EG)

P.S.

In my book passphrases and passwords for internet pages such as Ebay or for the bank are not data, but keys. And, of course, you should always be careful with keys. Even though I must admit that I am actually quite careless with my house keys.

Kommentar verfassen

*

Roland Dürre
Samstag, der 13. Oktober 2012

Wer hat Angst vorm schwarzen Mann?

Alle haben Angst vor der „Cloud“. Weil die schwarzen Männer in der Cloud unsere Daten fressen und/oder missbräuchlich nutzen könnten. Unsere wertvollen persönlichen Daten!

Besonders schlimm ist es, wenn die Wolke im Ausland steht. Dann gäbe es ja gar keine Kontrolle mehr. Der amerikanische Geheimdienst könnte unsere Daten lesen. Wenn die Cloud in Deutschland steht (schwebt) ist es aber nicht besser. Vielleicht kann dann der amerikanische Geheimdienst unsere Daten nicht lesen, aber bestimmt der deutsche. Und eigentlich ist es mir gleichgültig, welcher Geheimdienst meine Daten liest.

Warum sind uns unsere Daten so heilig? Ich verstehe das nicht. Nichts ist für mein Leben so unwichtig, wie dies meine Daten sind. Wer von mir etwas wissen will, der soll mich einfach fragen. Gerne antworte ich – auch öffentlich. Das meiste findet man eh unter duerre.de oder if-blog.de.

Wenn ich ein ängstlicher Typ wäre, dann hätte ich schon Angst vor Wolken. Aber ganz anderen. Nämlich denen, von denen ich tatsächlich abhängig bin. Aus denen all das kommt, was ich wirklich zum Leben brauche.

Wasser

Wasser kommt aus dem Wasserhahn. Der ist der Zugang zur Wasser-Cloud. Die ist ziemlich ungesichert. An vielen Stellen könnten Übeltäter es mit Gift versorgen. Den Giftterror im Wasserwerk kennen wir zwar nur aus dem Film – aber nur zu leicht könnte er Realität werden. Ein böser Terrorist würde genügen, uns alle zu verderben.

Wasser aus der Flasche aus dem Supermarkt hilft auch nicht weiter. Zuviel Schwachstellen hat auch diese Cloud, dem Bösewicht sind auch hier Tür und Tor geöffnet. Einen eigenen Brunnen hat kaum mehr einer. Der würde aber auch nichts helfen, weil die Cloud der Dioxine oder der Radioaktivität schon auf dem Wege ist, ihn zu verseuchen.

Aufs Bier ausweichen ist kein rettender Gedanke. Das kommt nur zu oft aus der InBev-Cloud. Und dies auf einem sehr riskanten Weg. Bis es dann endlich im sicheren Hafen meines Kühlschranks ist.

Nahrungsmittel

Alle Nahrungsmittel, ob Gefrierkost, Getreide, Grundnahrungsmittel aller Art, Gemüse und Obst, Fisch oder Fleisch, Kantinenessen, alles kommt aus der Cloud. Und da passiert auch gelegentlich etwas. Mal produziert die Cloud Hühnerfleisch mit ein klein wenig Dioxin, dann sind es tief kühl gefrorenen Erdbeeren. Die kommen aus China und machen unsere Kinder krank. Verstehe zwar nicht, warum wir in Deutschland im Herbst tief gefrorene Erdbeeren aus China essen müssen, hätten wir doch genug Äpfel, Birnen, Pflaumen … im Lande. Aber die Cloud macht es halt möglich, und das Apfelmus kommt ja auch aus der Cloud. Und bestimmt nicht aus der Nachbarschaft.

Aber wir vertrauen der Cloud. Sie wird die Welternährung schon stemmen und uns auch morgen füttern …

Energie

Der Strom kommt aus der Steckdose. Die ist die Schnittstelle zur Cloud. Der Sprit kommt aus dem Zapfhahn an der Tankstelle. Wenn die Cloud uns keinen Strom mehr gibt, gehen die Lichter aus. Wenn der Zapfhahn nur noch tröpfelt, stehen die Autos nur noch unnütz im Wege.

Woher der Strom oder der Sprit kommt, wissen wir nicht. Und wollen es auch gar nicht wissen. Die Cloud wird das schon machen. Mit oder ohne Wende. Außerdem ist die Energie ja nicht so lebensnotwendig wie das Wasser und die Nahrungsmittel. Ist doch nicht so schlimm, wenn der Strom mal schlecht ist.

Geld

Geld kann man nicht essen. Fürs Leben ist es noch unwichtiger als die Energie. Die meisten von uns haben eh zu viel davon. Deshalb kaufen wir uns allen möglichen Unsinn, den wir gar nicht brauchen. Das was vom Geld übrig bleibt lassen wir bei der Bank. So haben wir’s gelernt! Zu viele Jahre hat man uns eingebläut, dass nur das dumme Großmütterchen sein Geld im Strumpf unterm Sofa oder im Kopfkissen versteckt. Nein, wir denken offensichtlich, dass die Geld-Cloud ganz lieb und sogar fürs System relevant ist. Und geben ihr unser ganzes Geld. Damit sie es für uns arbeiten lässt. Und wenn wir zu wenig Geld haben, dann holen wir es uns von ihr.

Wasser, Nahrungsmittel, Energie, Geld und vieles mehr kommt aus der Cloud. Ich wüsste gar nicht, was heute nicht aus der Cloud kommt. Und trotzdem können wir gut schlafen …

Nur wenn unsere Daten in der Cloud sind, dann werden wir um unseren Nachtschlaf gebracht. Warum eigentlich? Haben wir Angst vor unseren Daten? Warum sind wir so in Sorge, dass andere erfahren könnten, wer und was wir wirklich sind?  Erinnern uns unsere Daten an unsere Schandtaten? Quasi als modernes schlechtes Gewissen?

Ich muss gestehen, ich verstehe allgemein die mal kollektive und mal individuelle Hysterie um personenbezogene Daten nicht. Ganz gleich ob diese in der Cloud liegen oder woanders. Habe noch einiges vor im Leben. Aber einen Job würde ich nie machen: Datenschutzbeauftragter.

RMD

P.S.
Kennungen und Passworte zu Internet-Seiten wie Ebay oder zur Bank sind für mich keine Daten sondern Schlüssel. Und auf Schlüssel sollte man schon aufpassen. Auch wenn ich gestehen muss, dass mein Umgang mit meinem Hausschlüssel auch sehr lax ist.

Be Sociable, Share!

Kommentar verfassen

*