Munich is a big city. In Munich, there is also a great theatre tradition. In former times, the “Resi“ (Residenztheater with various locations) and the Kammerspiele  dominated and fascinated me. Today, you get top theatre especially in the Volkstheater and perhaps also at an outsider in Freimann: the Metropoltheater.

However, we also have a huge variety of amateur theatres in Munich. I find the theatre troupe tgsm especially outstanding. With this opinion, I certainly do not want to discredit all the many other ambitioned “amateur actors“ in Munich who play with enormous enthusiasm on many stages. On the contrary, with theatre, it is just like in real life – the amateurs (people who do it because they love it, rather than for money) often need not feel inferior to the professionals.

Yesterday, I had the pleasure of a very special experience at the tgsm. It was a play that, unfortunately, is only rarely performed. Perhaps because it is unpleasant and because it hurts.

Fear and Misery in the Third Reich

by Bertolt Brecht (1898 – 1956)

Here is what it says in the tgsm brochure:

In 30 scenes, Brecht describes 30 moments of life in the Third Reich. Initially, he wanted to call the piece “Germany – a Horror Story“. The premiere was in 1938 in Paris with eight scenes. The individual scenes are separate units and are not combined to become a linear story. Yet, taken together, they are an image of life under the national-socialist regime. If you look closely enough, you will understand the mechanism of all dictatorships: polarisation, fear, defamation of minorities (enemy image) and demonstration of the government’s power on a daily basis. This is why the issue is also a current issue today and will always remain one.


I was worried when this evening started. Simply because I know that all the misery and atrocities of that time depress me. A short time ago, even riding my bike along the premises of the Dachau KZ gave me a sleepless night.
In the evening (at 10.30 p.m.), I rode home with a profound feeling of happiness. Which was totally the opposite of what I had expected. Because I had experienced great and precious theatre.

It made me particularly happy to have seen so many people (around 25 actors and around 15 supporters) who, in their free time and on a totally honorary basis, worked extremely hard to make something so great happen. And because I felt that those people saw the world like I see it.

Many thanks!


Here is the good news:
There are still a few performances, so you can watch the play! Here are the performance times:

June, 1st, 2018 (Friday)
June, 2nd, 2018 (Saturday)
Pasinger Fabrik, starting at 7.30 p.m.

June, 7th, 2018 (Thursday )
June, 8th, 2018 (Friday)
June, 9th, 2018 (Saturday)
Pepper Theater, Neuperlach, starting at 7.30 p.m.

June, 14th, 2018 (Thursday)
Neubiberg, Aula der Volksschule, Am Rathausplatz, starting at 8 p.m.

For tickets, click here.

And here are a few links to whet your appetite: a long comment on the debut at the end of which Konstantin Wecker sang a song. Naturally, he will not be present during all the other performances. You will then hear his song SAG NEIN as a recording. When we saw the performance, everybody sang along, so it was a great experience even without the master.

RMD
(Translated by EG)

Kommentar verfassen

*

München ist ein große Stadt. In München gibt es auch eine große Theatertradition. Früher haben „Das Resi“ (Residenztheater mit all seinen Spielorten) und die Kammerspiele die Szene dominiert und mich fasziniert. Heute finden wir Spitzentheater vor allem im Volkstheater und wohl auch beim Außenseiter aus Freimann – dem Metropoltheater.

Es gibt in München aber auch eine große Bühne des Amateur-Theaters. Herausragend empfinde ich das Theater Ensemble tgsm. Mit dieser Einschätzung möchte ich die vielen anderen ambitionierten „Laiendarsteller“ in München, die in vielen Bühnen mit Leidenschaft spielen, keinesfalls entwerten. Im Gegenteil, beim Theater ist es wie im richtigen Leben – die „Dilettanten“ (Menschen, die es aus Liebhaberei und nicht auch fürs Geld machen) stehen oft den Profis in nichts nach.

Gestern durfte ich beim tgsm etwas ganz besonders erleben. Es war ein Stück, dass leider nur selten aufgeführt wird. Vielleicht weil es unangenehm ist und weh tut.

Furcht und Elend des Dritten Reiches

von Bertolt Brecht (1898 – 1956)

Ich zitiere aus dem Programm des tgsm:


In 30 Szenen beschreibt Brecht 30 Momentaufnahmen des Lebens im 3. Reich und wollte es zunächst „Deutschland – ein Greuelmärchen“ nennen. 1938 fand mit acht Szenen in Paris die Uraufführung statt. Die Szenen stehen für sich, bilden keine fortgesetzte Handlung und fügen sich schließlich doch zu einem Bild des Lebens unter nationalsozialistischer Herrschaft zusammen. Wer da genau hinschaut, versteht die Mechanismen der Diktaturen nämlich: Polarisierung, Angst, Diffamierung von Minderheiten (Feindbild) und tägliche Demonstration der Staatsmacht. Darum ist das Thema auch heute aktuell und wird es immer bleiben.


Ich hatte Angst vor diesem Abend. Einfach weil ich weiß, dass das Grauen und Entsetzen dieser Zeit mich deprimiert. Vor kurzem hat mit nur das Vorbeiradeln am KZ in Dachau eine schlaflose Nacht beschert.

Am Abend (um 22:30) bin ich mit einem tiefen Glücksgefühl heim geradelt. Ganz gegen meine Erwartung. Weil ich großes und wertvolles Theater erlebt hatte.

Vor allem war ich glücklich, weil ich so viele Menschen erlebt habe (um die 25 Schauspieler und um die 15 Unterstützende), die mit unheimlich großen Engagement in ihrer Freizeit völlig ehrenamtlich so etwas Tolles auf die Beine gestellt haben. Und weil ich gefühlt haben, dass diese Menschen die Welt ähnlich sehen wie ich.

Vielen Dank dafür!


Die beste Nachricht:
Es gibt noch ein paar Gelegenheiten, das Stück zu erleben! Hier alle Termine:

1. Juni 2018 (Freitag)
2. Juni 18 (Samstag)
(Pasinger Fabrik, Beginn jeweils 19:30)

7. Juni 2018 (Donnerstag )
8. Juni 2018 (Freitag)
9. Juni 2018 (Samstag)
(Pepper Theater, Neuperlach, Beginn jeweils 19:30)

14 Juni 2018 (Donnerstag)
(Neubiberg, Aula der Volksschule, Am Rathausplatz, Beginn 20:00)

Zum Karten reservieren geht es hier.

Und hier noch ein paar Links zum Appetit machen: Hier eine ausführliche Kritik zur Premiere, an der Konstantin Wecker mit einem Lied zum Schluss dabei war. Bei den natürlich an den weiteren Aufführungen ist er nicht persönlich dabei, dann kommt sein Lied SAG NEIN vom Band. Bei uns haben da alle mitgesungen, so war es auch ohne den Meister persönlich ein wunderbares Erlebnis.

RMD

Kommentar verfassen

*