Roland D├╝rre
Sunday December 21st, 2008

How to Fight Dementors?

Recently through an article in the IF-Blog, I projected the term “dementor” from the fairy world of Harry Potter into our real world. Now someone has asked me how I would fight dementors.

Whenever dementors appear in my vicinity, I get desolate, my heart plummets, everything seems to be pointless and dark fantasies pull me down, so that I feel like giving up! Fighting this is no easier in our world than in the world of Harry Potter.

For me, the great outdoors and activity have been helpful. Mostly, after half an hour of playing soccer, riding my bike (against dementors even through the rain :-)) or swimming, the dementors’ power over me weakens and I already feel better. While I experience my own body as something pleasant, my self-esteem grows, my sorrows get less desperate, and I get new courage for facing the dementors. So here is my advice in case one of the dementors makes his appearance in your life:

Get out of the house, enjoy the great outdoors and go for a walk, climb a mountain, go jogging, ride a bike or go swimming!

Then there was the next question: can we immunise ourselves against dementors?

We will never be a total success in that respect. To overcome dark hours during which dementors want to take away the meaning of our lives we should try to live our lives responsibly. We should be happy with what we have achieved. The people in our social environment love us, all we have to do is appreciate it enough and reciprocate. Then our immune system against all kinds of dementors will become quite strong.

­čÖé I am afraid I, too, do not have much more to recommend.

RMD

(translated by Evelyn Gemkow)

Kommentar verfassen

*

Roland Dürre
Sonntag, der 21. Dezember 2008

Wie kann man sich gegen Dementoren wehren?

Vor kurzem habe ich den Begriff des Dementors aus der Sagenwelt von Harry Potter in einem Beitrag im IF-Blog in unsere Welt projiziert. Jetzt hat mich jemand gefragt, wie ich denn mich der Dementoren erwehren würde?

Wenn die Dementoren in meine Nähe kommen, wird es mir ganz bang, das Herz fällt mir in die Hose, alles erscheint sinnlos und finstere Gedanken bedrücken mich, so dass ich am liebsten aufgeben möchte! Sich dagegen zu wehren, ist in unserer Welt auch nicht leichter als in der des Harry Potter.

Mir hilft in so einem Fall frische Luft und Bewegung. Meistens verlieren die Sorgen nach einer halben Stunde des Fußballspielens, Radfahrens (gegen Dementoren gerne auch im Regen :-)) oder Schwimmens ihre Macht über mich und schon geht besser. Mit dem lustvollen Erleben des eigenen Körpers erwacht das Selbstvertrauen, die Sorgen relativieren sich und es erwächst frischer Mut, den Dementoren entgegen zu treten. Hier also meine Empfehlung für den Fall, dass ein Dementor bei Ihnen erscheint:

Raus aus dem Haus, hinein in die Natur und in frischer Luft Spazierengehen, Bergsteigen, Laufen, Radeln oder Schwimmen!

Dann kam die zweite Frage: Kann man sich gegen Dementoren immun machen?

Ganz wird dies nie gelingen. Vielleicht können wir finstere Stunden, in denen Dementoren uns den Lebenssinn rauben wollen, besser überwinden, wenn wir versuchen, unser Leben eigenverantwortlich zu führen. Wir sollten zufrieden sein, mit dem was wir erreicht haben. Unser soziales Umfeld mag uns, wir müssen es nur genug wertschätzen und die empfangene Liebe erwidern. Dann steigen unsere Abwehrkräfte gegen Dementorentum jede Art.

🙂 Viel mehr Empfehlungen habe ich leider auch nicht zu Hand.

RMD

Dann doch noch ein Lied – it’s getting better all the time!

Kommentar verfassen

*