Roland Dürre
Sunday March 27th, 2016

Another Debut Performance in the Torturmtheater!

And the piece was rehearsed at Unterhaching in the InterFace building!

Torturmtheater-Sommerhausen_Auquarell_SpielplanThis year, the Torturmtheater will be forty years old. The very first performance they give in this jubilee-season is going to be one that was rehearsed in Unterhaching. It makes me very happy to say so. The Torturmtheater has now finished some of its productions after intense work at the Unterhaching InterFace AG building for some years. The reason is obvious: most of the active members of the drama group often reside in the Munich area and it is quite hard to find appropriate rooms for rehearsals in Munich. The performances are always in the traditional Sommerhausen Torturm.

If you remember: in 1976, after the death of Luigi Malipiero, Veit Relin re-opened this very small and yet so wonderful theatre in Sommerhausen (very close to Würzburg), establishing its reputation beyond the region through premiere and first performances of a high standard and with exceptional playlists.

The 2016 season at the Torturmtheater will be a German debut performance:

A pornographic relationship by Philippe Blasband. The German debut will be on Wednesday, March, 30th, at 8 p.m. Under the directorship of the inimitable Eos Schopohl, the characters will be played by Zhanna Kalantay and Murali Perumal. As always, the responsibility for the choice of play, the accessories and much more is with Angelika Relin.

Love is a strange game. Yes, they loved each other. Regardless of the fact that, initially, they only wanted the fulfilment of their lust and preferences – she had put the advertisement in the classified section. They know nothing about each other; nameless, they are protected by anonymity. That is also true for protection against each other. The uncomfortable everyday-life details are absent, which gives them freedom. But soon they find out that they love each other. In fact, it might turn out to be the love of their lives …

At the decisive moment, however, they lack the courage. Eventually, all that is left to them is the bitter-sweet memory of a chance gone by and, above all, the memory of a passionate love.

With this story of a couple who did not want to be a couple, Philippe Blasband successfully created a wise and erotic intimate play full of sensitive comic elements.

Here is what Angelika Relin writes in her pre-view of the year 2016:

We will start in the spring, on March, 30th, with a German debut performance – A Pornographic Relationship! It is a melancholic love story, not devoid of comic elements, certainly intense … 
(See what I wrote above).

Later, we will try to fathom the very normal mania of our consumer society today and put it in a nutshell. The very title: If I did it in another way I would probably not always think of the money involved is so highly scurrile that you absolutely have to become curious. It is an evening you do not wish to miss under any circumstances – shrill, bizarre and endlessly comical, even if the strange everyday-life truths themselves basically create sad clowns.

The summer can actually be said to point directly to the Achilles Heel of our democracy that puts a rift through the middle of our society – and the same is true for our protagonists on stage: those two couples representing the middle classes and getting closer to each other as neighbours in jealous cordiality. When, one night, Barbara gives asylum to a refugee, the prosperity anxieties and the fascination with the unknown clash unhindered in this bitter-evil farce. All the parties concerned drown in the ups and downs of faked humanity with raven-black humour. We are not barbarians is the message they have to accept, even if their laughter gets stuck in their throats.

In the autumn, The Farewell Dinner will upset your diaphragm by trying to set the idea of friendship ad absurdum with its perfidious morals. But, as so often in life, everything will turn out differently …

Well, so far the message of the year 2016 by Angelika Relin. Click here for the playing schedule (Spielplan)!

As has been my habit for many years, I will go and see all the four performances in 2016 whenever possible. This is not only because it is very great theatre, but also because it is a chance for Barbara and me to make very nice trips to Sommerhausen. Unfortunately, I cannot see the premiere performance of “the pornographic relationship”, because I will still be in China at the time. But I already bought two tickets for the performance on April, 16th. And it would make me happy to see some faces I know!

RMD
(Translated by EG)

P.S.
If you want to go to Sommerhausen, the best thing to do is take the regional express train to Winterhausen, which is right on the opposite side of the river Main. From the Winterhausen railway station, you walk across the Main Bridge to the theatre, which is about one kilometre. You will want to exit the train at the rear end if it is headed towards Würzburg.

Kommentar verfassen

*

Roland Dürre
Sonntag, der 27. März 2016

Wieder eine Erstaufführung im Torturmtheater!

Und das Stück wurde bei InterFace in Unterhaching erarbeitet!

Torturmtheater-Sommerhausen_Auquarell_SpielplanDieses Jahr wird das Torturmtheater 40 Jahre alt. Gleich zum Start in die Jubiläums-Saison startet es mit „einem Stück aus Unterhaching“.

Das freut mich. Schon seit einigen Jahren erstellt das Torturmtheater manche seiner Produktionen in intensiver Arbeit in den Räumen der InterFace AG in Unterhaching. Der Grund ist einfach, die meisten der Mitwirkenden sind häufig aus dem Münchner Raum und Proberäume in München sind nicht leicht zu bekommen. Gespielt wird dann am traditionellen Torturm in Sommerhausen.

Zur Erinnerung: 1976 hat Veit Relin dieses ganz kleine und so wunderbare Theater in Sommerhausen (ganz in der Nähe von Würzburg) nach dem Tod von Luigi Malipiero wieder eröffnet und mit Ur- und Erstaufführungen im Rahmen eines niveauvollen wie außergewöhnlichen Spielplan überregional bekannt gemacht.

Die Saison 2016 eröffnet das Torturmtheater mit der deutschen Erstaufführung
Eine pornographische Beziehung von Philippe Blasband. Die deutsche Uraufführung findet am Mittwoch, den 30. März um 20.00 Uhr statt. Es spielen Zhanna Kalantay und Murali Perumal unter der Regie der einmaligen Eos Schopohl. Für die Auswahl des Stückes, die Ausstattung und vieles mehr zeichnet wie immer Angelika Relin verantwortlich.

Die Liebe ist ein seltsames Spiel. Ja, sie liebten sich, obwohl sie am Anfang nichts anderes als die Erfüllung ihrer Begierde, ihrer Neigungen ausleben wollten – dafür hatte sie eine Annonce aufgegeben. Sie kennen nichts voneinander; namenlos sind sie durch die Anonymität geschützt, auch voreinander. Die lästigen Details des Alltags fallen weg, das gibt ihnen Freiheit. Doch bald verstehen sie, daß sie sich lieben, vielleicht könnte es die Liebe ihres Lebens werden…

Im entscheidenden Moment fehlt ihnen jedoch der Mut. Zurück bleibt am Ende die bittersüße Erinnerung an eine nicht gelebte Chance, vor allem aber an eine leidenschaftliche Liebe.

Philippe Blasband ist mit dieser Geschichte eines Paares, das keines sein wollte ein kluges, erotisches Kammerspiel mit sensibler Komik gelungen.

Zur Jahresvorschau 2016 schreibt Angelika Relin:

Starten werden wir im Frühling am 30. März gleich mit einer Erstaufführung – Eine pornographische Beziehung! Einer melancholischen Liebesgeschichte, nicht ohne Komik, auf alle Fälle sehr intensiv…
(Dazu habe ich oben berichtet). 

Danach loten wir den ganz normalen Wahnsinn unserer heutigen Konsumgesellschaft aus und bringen den Irrwitz auf den Punkt. Allein schon der Titel Wenn ich was anderes machen würde, würde ich vielleicht nicht immer ans Geld denken ist so skurril, daß man einfach neugierig sein muß. Ein Abend, den Sie auf keinen Fall verpassen dürfen – schrill, bizarr und unendlich komisch, auch wenn die schrägen Wahrheiten des Alltags eigentlich schon wieder traurige Clowns erschaffen.

Der Sommer setzt sozusagen an der Achillesverse unserer Demokratie an, welche die Gesellschaft quer durch alle Schichten spaltet – so wie unsere Protagonisten auf der Bühne, diese zwei Pärchen aus dem Mittelstand, die sich als Nachbarn mit neidvoller Herzlichkeit annähern. Als Barbara eines Nachts einem Flüchtling Asyl gewährt prallen in dieser bitterbösen Farce Wohlstandsängste und die Faszination am Fremden ungebremst aufeinander. Mit rabenschwarzem Humor gehen hier alle im Wechselbad verlogener Menschlichkeit unter. Wir sind keine Barbaren müssen Sie sehen, auch wenn Ihnen das Lachen bestimmt im Halse stecken bleibt.

Im Herbst kitzelt dann noch Das Abschiedsdinner ihr Zwerchfell, in dem es mit seiner perfiden Moral die Idee der Freundschaft versucht ad absurdum zu führen. Aber wie so oft im Leben kommt es anders als man denkt…

Soweit die Jahresbotschaft 2016 von Angelika Relin. Hier geht es zum Spielplan!

Wie seit Jahren werde ich mir auch 2016 wenn irgend wie möglich alle vier Aufführungen im Hofturmtheater anschauen. Nicht nur, weil es jedesmal so tolles Theater ist. Sondern auch weil es für Barbara und mich so zu vier immer ganz besonders schönen Ausflügen nach Sommerhausen langt. Leider kann ich an der Premiere von „der pornographischen Beziehung“ nicht teilnehmen, weil ich da noch in China weile. Aber für den 16. April habe ich schon zwei Karten für uns reserviert. Und freue mich, wenn ich bekannte Gesichter sehe!

RMD

P.S.
Wer nach Sommerhausen will, fährt am besten mit dem Regionalexpreß nach Winterhausen, das gleich gegenüber auf der anderen Seite des Mains liegt. Vom Bahnhof Winterhausen sind es dann zu Fuß über die Mainbrücke zum Theater nur noch ein knapper Kilometer. Den Zug verlässt man übrigens am besten am Ende, wenn man in Richtung Würzburg fährt.

Kommentar verfassen

*