Roland Dürre
Tuesday June 9th, 2009

How Much Time do You Spend on the Blog?

A friend of mine sent me an SMS:

How much time does it take you every day to write your travel journal for the blog? 
Sincerely …

bild0424Good Question! But it is nowhere near as bad as it seems. By my calculation, I am riding my bike mostly between 8 a.m. and 6 p.m., sometimes longer. Since breakfast is before we start, there is never time for the MacBook in the morning.

As soon as we arrive in a hotel, we unpack and take a shower. Then we stroll through the village and enjoy a leisurly dinner.

After dinner, I read my email if possible – although my equipment is excellent and I have a t-mobile stick for Europe, this is not really as easy as one would think. And then there is a little time left, for example to do some writing instead of reading.

#

Writing my travel journal is done very quickly. My secret is the yellow book. Whenever I experience something beautiful during the day, I make a short note of it in my yellow book. That makes the whole business simple and efficient.

What is a little time-consuming is editing the pictures. I have to connect the camera and transfer the photos.
I just looked at my watch. So far, this article took me six minutes.

Quality is, of course, a problem. In theory, a lot could be done to improve it, both with the text and the pictures. Even videos could be included! If I wished to improve the quality by 50 per cent, I would have to invest twice as much time. And so on!

🙂 Naturally, that is not an issue if you are travelling as a couple.

So what we have is truly the principle of minimax

RMD

🙂 Finished after 10 minutes.

🙂 But this can only be achieved with a first-rate internet connection – for free and excellent! And now I will time wordpress to publish the article tomorrow at 10 a.m. – by which time I will long ago have started riding my bike.

Greetings to all my friends in Munich!

(translated by EG)

Kommentar verfassen

*

Roland Dürre
Dienstag, der 9. Juni 2009

Wieviel Zeit braucht man zum Bloggen?

Ein Freund hat mir eine SMS geschickt:

Wie aufwendig ist eigentlich die tägliche Pflege des Urlaubsbericht im Blog?
Gruß …

bild0424
Gute Frage! Aber so schlimm ist das gar nicht. Wenn ich nachrechne, dann bin ich meistens von 8:00 bis 18:00 oder länger auf dem Fahrrad unterwegs. Vorher schön frühstücken, am Morgen bleibt nie Zeit für das MacBook.

Wenn wir im Hotel angekommen sind, dann wird ausgepackt und geduscht. Ein Spaziergang im Dorf, ein  langes Abendessen.

Nach dem Abendessen lese ich, wenn möglich meine E-Mails (trotz guter Ausstattung und T-Mobil-Stick für Europa) ist das gar nicht so einfach. Und dann bleibt noch ein wenig Zeit – an Stelle zum Beispiel fürs Lesen – für das Schreiben.

Den Bericht tippe ich ganz schnell runter. Ein Geheimnis dabei ist das gelbe Buch. Wenn ich auf der Reise am Tag etwas Schönes erlebe, dann trage ich das immer bei den kurzen Pausen als Stichwort in das gelbe Buch ein. Das macht die Sache einfach und sehr effizient.

Ein wenig Aufwand machen die Fotos. Kamera anschließen, Fotos einspielen.

Jetzt habe ich gerade gemessen, für diesen Artikel habe ich bisher 6 Minuten gebraucht.

Ein Problem ist das mit der Qualität. Man könnte so viel machen. Texte schleifen, Bilder verbessern. Videos! Wenn ich die Qualität um 50 % erhöhen würde, müsste ich doppelt soviel Zeit investieren. Und so weiter!

🙂 Das geht natürlich nicht, wenn man zu zweit unterwegs ist.

Also – echtes Minimax-Prinzip!

RMD

Fertig ist der Artikel in 10 Minute!

🙂 Geht aber nur wegen einer exzellenten Verbindung ins Internet – for free und blitzschnell! Und jetzt stelle ich in wordpress ein, dass der Artikel morgen um 10:00 veröffentlicht wird, wenn ich schon längst wieder auf dem Rad sitze.

Grüsse nach München.


Kommentar verfassen

*