Roland Dürre
Tuesday December 21st, 2010

Wikipedia #15 – The Workflow!

Wikipedia is many things. It is an encyclopaedia containing enormous knowledge from really all areas. Well, we all know that, don’t we? However, Wikipedia also realizes a social system in which many people cooperate on a world-wide scale. That is something most people will not so easily think of when hearing the word.

Most users are not aware of the fantastical workflow realized in Wikipedia.

Take, for example, the votes on the relevance criteria or the mentoring program. It is all realized on a de-centralized basis through simple modules. They simply work on lists controlled by watchdogs.
The mentoring program works as follows: the “Newbie” calls the chip “Looking for Mentor”. In doing so, he leaves a trace in the system which the mentors can find by calling the chip “next mentee”.

So the entire workflow in Wikipedia is organized by simple chips coordinated by equally simple mechanisms. What you get is an ingenious triangle of powers: “hyper link, version control and workflow done by simple chips”.

I like it much better than the “normal workflows” usually used for realizing processes in an enterprise. Those are designed like a model railway system, with inflexible switches that must be manually moved for each change. Workflow à la Wikipedia is like “Lego instead of a model railroad”.

To be sure, the Wikipedia workflow might look a little antiquated to some but it is a simple mechanism and works quite well. It follows my personal motto “KISS” in its variant “keep it simple and smart”.

😉  Perhaps it is worth taking a closer look – you might just end up learning something.

RMD
(Translated by EG)

1 Kommentar zu “Wikipedia #15 – The Workflow!”

  1. Chris Wood (Thursday December 23rd, 2010)

    How does one start to look closely at the mechanisms?

Kommentar verfassen

*

Roland Dürre
Dienstag, der 21. Dezember 2010

Wikipedia #15 – Der Workflow!

Wikipedia ist vieles. Ein Lexikon, das ein enormes Wissen aus wirklich allen Disziplinen enthält. Das weiß ein jeder. Wikipedia realisiert aber auch ein soziales System, in dem sehr viele Menschen weltweit zusammenarbeiten. Daran denkt man schon nicht mehr so schnell.

Nicht bewusst ist den meisten Nutzern, welch phantastischer Workflow in Wikipedia realisiert ist.

Nehmen wir als Beispiel die Abstimmungen über die Relevanzkriterien oder das Mentorenprogramm. Alles wird durch einfache Module dezentral realisiert. Diese arbeiten ganz einfach auf Listen gesteuert von Watchdogs.

Beim Mentorenprogramm sieht das so aus, dass der „Newbie“ den Baustein „Suche Mentor“ aufruft. Der hinterlässt dann im System eine Spur, die die Mentoren mit einem Baustein „nächster Mentee“ findet.

So ist der ganze Workflow in Wikipedia durch einfache Organisations-Bausteine realisiert, die über genauso einfache Mechanismen zusammenwirken.

So ergibt sich ein geniales Kraftdreieck: „Hyperlink, Versionsführung und Workflow durch einfache Bausteine“.

Mir gefällt das viel besser, als der „normale“ Workflow, mit dem die Prozesse eines Unternehmens üblicherweise realisiert werden. Der ist wie eine Modelleisenbahn angelegt, starr und mit festgelegten Weichen, die bei jeder Änderung explizit angefasst werden muss. Workflow à la Wikipedia ist „Lego anstelle von Modelleisenbahn“.

Mag sein, dass der Workflow in Wikipedia ein wenig altmodisch aussehen kann – aber er ist einfach und funktioniert gut. Nach dem Motto „KISS“ in der Variante „keep it simple and smart“. Vielleicht sollte man da mal genauer hinschauen, man kann viel lernen :-).

RMD

1 Kommentar zu “Wikipedia #15 – Der Workflow!”

  1. Chris Wood (Donnerstag, der 23. Dezember 2010)

    How does one start to look closely at the mechanisms?

Kommentar verfassen

*