Roland Dürre
Friday October 1st, 2010

Wikipedia #13 – Wikipedia- Congress

On the weekend of September, 24th to September, 26th, Leipzig hosted the Wikipedia Congress. The admission was free. For details about the program and venue, click  HYPERLINK “http://www.cpov.de” \o “Wikipedia Kongreß-Seite” \t “_blank” here.

Frau Eva Prase of the Freie Presse wrote an article about the opening of the congress titled: “The first internet world wonder”. I helped to inspire her.

Click here to read the Artikel (871). I find it worth reading.

In the article, you will also find my assessment that, due to its “powerful presence on the market” Wikipedia is more than just a “passive” documentation. Instead, it also “actively” influences our assessment of things and persons. It happens involuntarily, yet is unavoidable.

Because technologies and terms not or poorly described in Wikipedia will be forgotten or devaluated. The same is true for persons. For instance, a management trainer with a good presence in Wikipedia is “worth more” than one who cannot be found there.

🙂 Or to put it in simple terms: an animal not described in Wikipedia does not exist.

RMD
(Translated by EG)

P.S.
And with all this fuss, I forgot to mention that the InterFace AG is, of course, not located in Munich, but in  Unterhaching near Munich.

Kommentar verfassen

*

Roland Dürre
Freitag, der 1. Oktober 2010

Wikipedia #13 – Wikipedia-Kongress

Am Wochenende vom 24. September bis zum 26. September fand in Leipzig ein Wikipedia-Kongress statt. Der Eintritt war frei. Programm und Tagungsort findet man hier.

Frau Eva Prase von der Freien Presse hat zur Eröffnung des Kongresses einen Artikel mit dem Titel „Das erste Internet-Weltwunder“ für die „Freie Presse“ geschrieben. Ich habe sie dabei ein wenig inspiriert.

Hier kann man den Artikel (612) nachlesen. Ich finde ihn lesenswert.

Im Artikel findet sich auch meine Bewertung wieder, dass Wikipedia aufgrund seiner „Marktmacht“ nicht nur „passiv“ dokumentiert, sondern natürlich auch „aktiv“ die Bewertung von Dingen und Menschen beeinflusst. Das geschieht unabsichtlich, ist aber unausbleiblich.

Denn Technologien und Begriffe, die in Wikipedia nicht oder nur unzureichend beschrieben sind, werden vergessen bzw. entwertet. Das gilt auch für Menschen. So ist ein Management Trainer, der in Wikipedia vernünftig dokumentiert ist „mehr wert“ als einer, den man dort nicht findet.

🙂 Oder einfacher gesagt, ein Tier, das in Wikipedia nicht beschrieben ist, das gibt es nicht.

RMD

P.S.
Und dass die InterFace AG ja tatsächlich in Unterhaching bei München und nicht in München liegt, habe ich in der Eile übersehen.

Be Sociable, Share!

Kommentar verfassen

*