Roland Dürre
Saturday August 7th, 2010

Wikipedia #12 – “Ageing!” or “A German Problem?”

In my last presentation, standing in front of quite an audience, I again asked the question: Who in this room uses Wikipedia? Every finger went up in the air – there was not a single person in the room who does not use it! Wikipedia has grown to be a very important factor. The world can no longer be imagined without Wikipedia.

In Wikipedia, so you would believe, you will find everything. After all, the number of words available in Wikipedia is several times higher than that found in any other encyclopaedia.  Of course, even Wikipedia cannot contain everything. Once in a while, you discover relevant cultural assets that cannot be found in Wikipedia. Basically, it would be our duty as citizens to support the creation of the missing articles.

Wikipedia changes the world. Techniques and terms you cannot find or will only find poorly described will get less and less important. If some innovative concept has not been described in Wikipedia, it will hardly stand a chance of developing into something significant.

Thanks to the democratic structure of Wikipedia, this phenomenon is mostly self-regulative. There is a functioning democratic control mechanism. And, of course, the representatives of all areas of expertise know that their knowledge had better get into Wikipedia if they want to remain relevant. Because technologies and cultures described in Wikipedia, as well as persons and social systems, gain new meaning.

But Wikipedia faces a massive threat!


And the threat is not even a financial one. It is a development particularly well-known in Europe: ageing.

In Germany alone, several hundred thousand persons contribute to Wikipedia on an honorary basis. They are badly needed, too, in order to continue the gigantic work. And the community of all these many people is a gigantic “social knowledge network”! Wikipedia is probably the biggest world-wide social network with a global goal that is explicitly serving the human race – the documentation of human knowledge.

If this community wastes away and disappears, Wikipedia will be on the way down. This would be a huge setback for all of us.

By now, I have met quite a few people who actively contribute to Wikipedia. To be sure, I have never seen any statistics about the average age of “Wikipedians“. But it feels like Wikipedia is ageing. The people I communicate with mostly seem to be older than I. And I am sixty already! To me, it seems like the generation under 60 is sparsely represented in Wikipedia and the generation under 50 not at all. That gives me pause. I would be happy to read, for instance, some statistics or numerous replies telling me I am wrong…

Something should be done about this! Why don’t we, for instance, advertise Wikipedia in our schools?

But what do schools do? They warn the children and adolescents given into their care against Wikipedia. Mind you, the order to give said warning comes from higher above.

So what is actually the duty of our educational and school system?

Our schools should teach our children to treat Wikipedia articles (like everything else) with care and ask sceptical questions. They should motivate young people to correct mistakes therein or at least leave advice on the discussion page. And the teachers should familiarize the students – perhaps in knowledge studies – with the important yet not always easy rules and structures of Wikipedia. Why not describe how, even today, this is a place where democratic processes are already practiced in the internet? What about defining what a discussion page and relevance criteria are? And how Wikipedia is structured? How you can easily find your way by using the glossary?

Even better: schools and places of apprenticeship should actively promote work for Wikipedia!

Taking an active part in an encyclopaedia is probably the very best way to practice learning. You learn to apply a working method that is characterized both by concentration and critical considerations, you have to do prudent research work and balance your results in a responsible way. It is also good practice for formulating precisely what you want to say. Taken together, you get an excellent sense of value for your future, both in your private life and as a citizen or for your future work place.

Unfortunately, the teachers I have met usually know next to nothing about Wikipedia, except the few who work actively in Wikipedia themselves. And this is not only true for the older teacher generation, but regrettably especially for the young ones. It fits with the age structure of teachers, which is similarly problematic to that of Wikipedia.

What will happen if we get no new blood in Wikipedia? If the social network of Wikipedians suffers from drastic loss of participants!

Then we will get a knowledge ruin, serviced by a few high priests. Thinking of a replacement of Wikipedia by a relevant private encyclopaedia is hardly imaginable, not the least reason for which is the enormous amount of human knowledge.

Consequently, the universities and public knowledge organizations must fill the gap. This will, however, not be possible. Both our universities and our educational system get more and more scruffy. Libraries either disappear or must re-define themselves.

Eventually, all our hopes will be on Google and Amazon. Or on the great American billionaire who wants to donate half of his money to charity.
This is not a nice prospect.

RMD
(Translated by EG)

P.S.
On January, 15th, 2001, the wiki of Nupedia was first available under its own address wikipedia.com – and therefore this date is considered the birthday of Wikipedia. In other words, Wikipedia will be ten years old next year. Now isn’t that an example for gaining speed and doesn’t it show how fast the internet can be!

Kommentar verfassen

*

Auch bei meinem letzten Vortrag vor doch zahlreichen Menschen habe ich wieder die Frage gestellt: Wer im Raum nutzt Wikipedia? Alle haben sich gemeldet – kein einziger Nichtnutzer war im Raum! Wikipedia ist eine ganz wichtige Geschichte geworden. Wikipedia ist nicht mehr weg zu denken.

In Wikipedia steht alles, meint man. Denn die Anzahl der in Wikipedia verfügbaren Begriffe ist ein Mehrfaches höher als in allen anderen Enzyklopädien. Natürlich kann in Wikipedia auch nicht alles stehen. Ab und zu entdeckt man relevantes Kulturgut, das in Wikipedia nicht vermerkt ist. Eigentlich wäre es eine „Bürgerpflicht“, das Entstehen der fehlenden Artikel dann zu unterstützen.

Wikipedia verändert die Welt. Techniken oder Begriffe, die in Wikipedia nicht gefunden werden oder dort schlecht beschrieben sind, verlieren an Bedeutung. Neues, das in Wikipedia nicht beschrieben ist, hat keine Chance, sich zu entwickeln.

Dank der demokratischen Struktur von Wikipedia gleicht sich das zum größten Teil selbst aus. Es gibt eine gute demokratische Kontrolle. Und die Vertreter aller Fachgebiete wissen natürlich, dass ihr Wissen in Wikipedia rein muss, damit es eine Chance bekommt, relevant zu bleiben. Denn in Wikipedia beschriebene Technologien und Kulturen aber auch Menschen und soziale Systeme bekommen eine andere Bedeutsamkeit.

Wikipedia ist aber massiv bedroht!

Die Bedrohung ist nicht mal finanzieller Art. Es ist eine Entwicklung, die gerade in Europa wohl bekannt ist – die Überalterung.

Allein in Deutschland wirken ein paar hunderttausend Menschen ehrenamtlich an Wikipedia mit. Die braucht man auch dringend, um das gigantische Werk fortzuführen. Und die Gemeinschaft dieser vielen Menschen stellt ein gigantisches „soziales Wissens-Netzwerk“ dar! Wikipedia ist wahrscheinlich das weltweit größte „social network“ mit einer explizit dem Menschen verpflichteten globalen Zielsetzung – der Dokumentation des menschlichen Wissens.

Wenn diese Community sich auszehrt und verschwindet, wird es rasch mit Wikipedia abwärts gehen. Das wäre ein großer Rückschlag für uns alle.

Jetzt kenne ich doch einige Menschen, die bei Wikipedia aktiv sind. Zwar habe ich keine Statistik über das Alter der „Wikipedianer„. Aber gefühlt stelle ich fest: Wikipedia ist überaltert. Die Menschen, mit denen ich kommuniziere, scheinen mir alle älter als ich. Und ich bin 60! Und habe den Eindruck, dass die Generation unter 60 schwach und die unter 50 kaum mehr in Wikipedia vertreten ist. Das macht mir Sorge, ich würde mich freuen, wenn ich z.B. durch eine Statistik oder zahlreiche Rückmeldungen widerlegt werden würde …

Da müsste man etwas tun! Z.B. in den Schulen für Wikipedia werben.

Aber was macht die Schule? Sie warnt die ihr anvertrauten Kinder und Jugendlichen vor Wikipedia. Auf Empfehlung und Weisung von höherer Stelle.

Was wäre die Aufgabe von Bildung und Schule?

Die Schule sollte ihren Schüler lehren, Wikipedia-Artikel (wie alles andere) kritisch zu hinterfragen. Und erkannte Fehler zu verbessern oder zumindest die Anregung auf der Diskussionsseite hinterlassen. Und die Lehrer sollten ihren Schülern – vielleicht in Wissenskunde – die wichtigen aber auch nicht einfachen Regeln und Strukturen von Wikipedia lehren. Ihnen erklären, wie dort demokratische Prozesse schon heute im Internet gelebt werden. Ihnen vermitteln, was eine Diskussionsseite oder Relevanzkriterien sind. Wie Wikipedia aufgebaut ist. Wie man übers Glossar sich leicht orientieren kann.

Und noch besser: Die Schule und Ausbildung sollten für die Mitarbeit bei Wikipedia aktiv werben!

Das Mitwirken an einer Enzyklopädie dürfte eine der besten Möglichkeiten sein, sich im Lernen einzuüben. Es erfordert eine konzentrierte und kritische Arbeitsmethodik, erfordert kluge Recherche-Arbeit und verantwortliches Abwägen der Ergebnisse. Es übt präzises Formulieren. Alles zusammen stellt einen exzellenten Wert fürs weitere Leben dar, sei es privat, als Bürger oder am Arbeitsplatz der Zukunft.

Bedauerlicherweise wissen aber zumindest die mir bekannten Lehrer selber rein gar nichts über Wikipedia, bis auf die wenigen, die selbst aktiv an Wikipedia mitarbeiten. Die gilt nicht nur für die Älteren, sondern bedauerlicherweise besonders für die Jungen. Das passt auch zur Altersstruktur der Lehrer, die ähnlich problematisch ist wie die in Wikipedia.

Was passiert, wenn der Wikipedia-Nachwuchs ausbleibt? Wenn das „social network“ der „Wikipedianer“ drastisch an Mitwirkenden verliert!

Dann wird eine Wissensruine entstehen, die von wenigen Hohepriestern gepflegt wird. Eine Ablösung von Wikipedia durch eine relevante private Enzyklopädie ist nicht zuletzt aufgrund der Menge des menschlichen Wissens kaum mehr vorstellbar.

Also müssten die Universitäten und öffentliche Wissenseinrichtungen einspringen. Das wird kaum möglich sein. Universitäten wie das Bildungssystem werden immer maroder. Bibliotheken verschwinden oder müssen sich erst selbst wieder erfinden.

Am Schluss bleibt uns dann nur noch, auf Google und Amazon zu hoffen. Oder auf den großen amerikanischen Milliardär, der die Hälfte seiner Milliarden für einen guten Zweck spenden will.

Keine schöne Aussicht.

RMD

P.S.
Am 15. Januar 2001 war das Wiki der Nupedia unter der eigenständigen Adresse wikipedia.com abrufbar, was seither als die Geburtsstunde der Wikipedia gilt. Das heißt, dass Wikipedia offiziell erst in im nächsten Jahr 10 Jahre alt wird. Wenn das kein Beispiel für Beschleunigung und die Geschwindigkeit ist, die das Internet aufnehmen kann!

Kommentar verfassen

*