On August, 18th, 2015, there was an article by Christian Sebald on street construction in the County Munich Section of the SZ:

B 15 maintenance will cost more than twice as much

It said:

“that continuing with the work on the controversial new B 15 will cost more than twice as much as had been anticipated. This can be concluded from a reply by the Federal Traffic Secretary Dorothee Bär (CSU) following a question from the Representative from Landshut Thomas Gambke (Grüne). According to this reply, the nine kilometres between Ergoldsbach in Lower Bavaria and the motorway A 92, will cost around 182 million Euros. Before now, they had estimated 88 million Euros.“

Well, this is more than a hundred per cent increase.

According to the SZ,

“the new B 15 between Regensburg and Rosenheim is one of the most controversial street construction projects in Bavaria. First plans were made in the 1960ies. In those days, it was planned to have 130 kilometres of motorway connecting Regensburg, Landshut and Rosenheim. Later, they modified the project to make it just a Federal Highway.

But with its four lines and two hard shoulders, it is a Federal Highway that looks a lot like a motorway running through the scenery over the 30 kilometres north of Landshut.”

I do not understand why these kinds of projects are still executed. If we invest into streets at all, one would expect the focus to be on the infra-structure we already have.

Our future will not improve by building more streets. The car as a basic means of transportation is becoming obsolete. The structures of our co-existence change. And nor do we, due to the challenges we face in educational and social politics, have the money to build new racing tracks for the die-hard reactionaries. Another reason is the demographic situation – even if today it is mostly the elderly persons you find on the streets with their status symbols. Because this generation will die – and many things will be done in a totally different way by the new generation (at least that is what I hope). I am not even mentioning the climate catastrophe that will also bring quite a bit of change for us.

Neither is the fact that those living close by the streets suffer from the traffic an argument in favour of building new streets. It is easy to come up with plenty of reasons for building streets around something or other! The first thing the communities should do is reduce the “home-made traffic” – which is always a considerable part of the problem, before laying the groundwork for a reduction of the through-traffic.

But let us continue with what it says in the SZ article.

There are several reasons for the cost explosion. First and foremost, the former
estimation is almost ten years old and therefore obsolete. “You have to calculate two to three per cent increase each year”, a speaker of the Autobahndirection Süd, which is responsible for the planning process, says. “This is due to the general inflation”.

This is also something that constantly annoys me. Allegedly, we have no inflation, but for all cost explosions, you give it as a reason.

On the whole, the article is truly worth reading. Just like I am a true fan of the online Süddeutsche Zeitung. As soon as you have access, your login can happen from all places (Android, iPhone, iPad, Windows 8). You no longer have old paper to dispose of and neither do you have to get rid of all the many advertisement before starting to read the SZ.

Consequently, I have no problem doing a bit of advertising for the SZ:

So – if you feel like it, just try it:
Now 14 days free testing under
www.sz.de/apptesten

RMD
(Translated by EG)

Kommentar verfassen

*

Am 18.08.2015 gab es in der SZ – Landkreis München – zum Thema Straßenbau einen Artikel von Christian Sebald zu lesen:

B 15 neu wird mehr als doppelt so teuer

Dort wurde berichtet:
„dass der Weiterbau der umstrittenen B 15 neu mehr als doppelt so teuer wie erwartet wird. Das ginge aus einer Antwort von Bundesverkehrsstaatssekretärin Dorothee Bär (CSU) auf eine Anfrage des Landshuter Bundestagsabgeordneten Thomas Gambke (Grüne) hervor. Danach würde der neun Kilometer lange Abschnitt zwischen dem niederbayerischen Ergoldsbach und der Autobahn A 92 etwa 182 Millionen Euro kosten. 
Bisher wären dafür 88 Millionen Euro veranschlagt gewesen.“

Also eine Steigerung mehr als 100 Prozent.

Laut SZ zählt
„die B 15 neu zwischen Regensburg und Rosenheim zu den umstrittensten Straßenprojekten Bayerns. Die ersten Pläne datieren aus den Sechzigerjahren. Damals sollte eine 130 Kilometer lange Autobahn Regensburg, Landshut und Rosenheim verbinden. Später wurde das Projekt zur Bundesstrasse herabgestuft.

Allerdings zu einer, die sich mit vier Fahrspuren und zwei Standstreifen wie eine Autobahn durchs Land zieht, wie man an dem fertigen, 30 Kilometer langen Abschnitt nördlich von Landshut sieht. 

Ich verstehe nicht, warum man solche Projekte immer noch durchführt. Wenn wir schon in Straßen investieren, dann sollte man doch vor allem Wert darauf legen, dass die schon vorhandene Infrastruktur erhalten bleibt.

Unsere Zukunft wird nicht durch noch mehr Straßen besser werden. Das Auto als Basisverkehrsmittel hat sich doch überholt, die Strukturen unsere Zusammenlebens ändern sich. Und das Geld, um weiter Rennstrecken für ewig gestrige zu bauen haben wir doch angesichts der Herausforderungen in der Bildungs- und Sozialpolitik gar nicht mehr.  Auch nicht angesichts der demographischen Situation – auch wenn heute es vor allem die Senioren sind, die mit ihren Status-Sympbolen die Straßen bevölkern. Denn diese Generation stirbt aus – und die Neue wird manches doch ganz anders machen (Zumindest hoffe ich das). Von der Klimakatastrophe, die auch einiges an Wandel für uns bringen wird, will ich hier gar nicht reden.

Und dass Anwohner unter dem Verkehr leiden, ist auch kein Argument für neue Straßen. Für was müsste man dann alles Umgehungsstrassen bauen!? Die Kommunen sollten zuerst mal den „hausgemachten Verkehr“ – der immer einen wesentlichen Anteil – hat reduzieren und dann die Voraussetzungen schaffen, die eine Reduktion des Durchgangsverkehr zu ermöglichen.

Aber lesen wir in der SZ weiter.

Die Kostenexplosion hat mehrere Gründe. Zum einen ist die bisherige Schätzung annähernd zehn Jahre alt und deshalb überholt. „Pro Jahr muss man mit zwei bis drei Prozent Steigerung rechnen“, sagt ein Sprecher der Autobahndirektion Süd, die die Planung verantwortet. „Das liegt an der allgemeinen Teuerung.“

Das ärgert mich auch immer. Angeblich haben wir kaum eine Inflation, aber Kostenexplosionen werden dann genau mit dieser gerechtfertigt.

Insgesamt ist der Artikel wirklich sehr lesenswert, wie ich auch ein Fan der digitalen Süddeutschen Zeitung bin. Mit einem Zugang kann man sich von überall einloggen (Android, iPhone, iPad, Windows 8). Man hat kein Altpapier mehr und muss auch nicht vor der Lektüre der SZ die Unmengen Werbebeilagen heraus schütteln.

So mache ich gerne ein wenig Reklame für die SZ:

Also – wer Lust hat, das mal auszuprobieren:

Jetzt 14 Tage gratis testen unter
www.sz.de/apptesten

RMD

Kommentar verfassen

*