Roland Dürre
Wednesday July 26th, 2017

Shouldn’t Business Serve Humans?!

In Unterhaching, we have a great soccer club, a number of IT enterprises such as the InterFace AG and even world-famous companies. One of them is Wrigley.

Let me relate to you what I learned over the last few weeks. I did not make any attempts at verifying the story, but it is quite possible that things I heard in the form of reports or gossip around here are the truth.

I am sure the degree to which Unterhaching has become considerably more famous even beyond Germany is due to the Spielvereinigung Unterhaching.

Besides soccer, we also have volleyball, gymnastics and several other successful athletic areas in Unterhaching – as well as several more interesting enterprises and a wonderful outdoor swimming pool and much more.

The Unterhaching Civic Office is certainly glad that the famous Wrigley enterprise has its European headquarters here. And perhaps in the future, you will have to say “had”.


The big concerns want power. To this end, they like to swallow up other concerns.


It is quite possible that, with its profit of 35 billion US dollars in 2016, Mars falls a little behind Nestlé (turnover in 2015 was 88.8 billion). That is just more motivation for Mars to catch up with the big rival.

Currently, they are preparing for the merging of the animal hospital chain VCA Inc. (Veterinary Centres of America). Mars wants to spend 9.1 billion US dollars, including the debt. It is supposed to further strengthen the business area “animal health”. To me, it looks more like mania and misdirected late capitalism. I can imagine only too well (or rather, too badly) what the leading US food giant wants to achieve by the merging.


Food producer invests in animal hospital. Shame to him who evil thinks.


Wrigley was swallowed by Mars as early as 2008. Initially the European headquarters remained in Unterhaching. Another important Mars location is obviously in Viersen near Düsseldorf.

Now, Mars wants to centralize a few of its activities in London. One of the consequences will be that people now living in Unterhaching or Viersen will have to move to London. This might hurt some residents of Unterhaching, for others it will be an exciting challenge.

But then, this is what you get in a global world and economy. After all, most of the people seem to like it, since they support it – at least with their consumption habits.
But that is not what this article is about. What gives me pause is the reason they give for moving to London.


Big concerns assume that, in the future, the central key towards success in our competitive world will be the quality of marketing.


To the concern, that seems useful, and even necessary, because it assumes that, in the market for PROVISIONS, only an enterprise that has the best MARKETING can establish itself and perhaps even add to its turnover. And among the top managers, they assume that the most efficient and effective marketing firms basically sit in London. Consequently, they seek close proximity to them – and go to Great Britain. Regardless of the Brexit and such. In my opinion, the Brexit is more an operetta than anything else.

PROVISIONS concerns are, first and foremost, after turnover and results (profit). And, in the eyes of the concerns, MARKETING is the determining factor in this field. Everything else, like the quality of food and the consequences for your health, only plays a minor role.


Business should serve the people, not vice versa!


For the concerns, only one thing is important: the people must buy the cheaply produced mass food at a price that is as high as possible. To make it attractive for the masses, it is made “convenient” and optically seducing. Enriched with aromatic ingredients, “the taste of the world“ is generated and realized. “Cheap” is more important than quality, optical appeal and wrapping is more important than the content, uniformity beats diversity, mass has priority over class, storage life beats freshness, logistic feasibility has priority over taste. …

Thus, there is a strong LOBBY that forbids the legislators in Europe and Germany, for instance, the clear marking of a product if it contains substances that may be detrimental for your health.

And what do the people do? Nothing. They believe what marketing says and buy like lemmings all the products by Mars, Nestle and co. Unfortunately, this is also true for Unterhaching.

RMD
(Translated by EG)

1 Kommentar zu “Shouldn’t Business Serve Humans?!”

  1. Hans Bonfigt (Wednesday July 26th, 2017)

    Hallo Roland,

    warum sind wir auch alle so dumm und kaufen den Scheiß, den die amerikanischen Multis anbieten?

    Microsoft, Apple, Coca-Cola, “Facebook”:
    Alles höchst entbehrlich!

Kommentar verfassen

*

Roland Dürre
Mittwoch, der 26. Juli 2017

Wirtschaft sollte doch für die Menschen da sein?!

Unterhaching beherbergt einen tollen Fussball-Verein, eine Reihe von IT-Unternehmen wie auch die InterFace AG und sogar Weltfirmen. Zu einer von diesen gehört Wrigley.

Ich erzähle mal, was ich in den letzten Wochen so gehört habe. Ich habe die Geschichte nicht recherchiert, es könnte aber gut sein, dass es stimmt, was so als Bericht und Gerücht durch die Gegend wabert.

Sicher ist es die Spielvereinigung Unterhaching, die den Bekanntheitsgrad von Unterhaching über die Grenzen Deutschlands hinaus beträchtlich erhöht hat.

Neben Fußball gibt es in Unterhaching auch Volleyball, Turnen und manche erfolgreiche Sportart mehr – und einiges an weiteren interessanten Unternehmen, ein wunderschönes Freibad und vieles schöne mehr.

So erfreut sich auch die Gemeinde Unterhaching auch daran, dass das namhafte Welt-Unternehmen Wrigley seine Europa-Zentrale seinen Sitz hat. Und das muss demnächst wohl heißen „hatte“.


Die großen Konzerne streben nach Macht. Für diesen Zweck übernehmen sie gerne andere Konzerne.


Mag sein, dass Mars mit Erlösen in 2016 von 35 Milliarden US-Dollar eher im Schatten von Nestlé (Umsatz 2015 war 88,8 Milliarden CHF) steht. Umso mehr arbeitet Mars daran, den großen Rivalen einzuholen.

Gerade bereiten sie die Übernahme des Tierklinikbetreibers VCA Inc. (Veterinary Centres of America) vor. Inklusive Schulden will Mars 9,1 Milliarden US-Dollar ausgeben! Damit soll das Geschäftsfeld Tiergesundheit weiter verstärkt werden. Ich empfinde das als Wahnsinn und fehlgeleiteten Spätkapitalismus. Was der amerikanische Nahrungsmittel-Gigant mit der Übernahme vorhat, das kann ich mir nur zu gut (besser schlecht) ausmalen.


Nahrungs-Mittel-Hersteller investiert in Tierklink. Bestraft sei, wer hier Böses denkt.


Schon in 2008 wurde Wrigley von Mars übernommen. Die Europa-Zentrale verblieb zuerst mal in Unterhaching. Ein weiterer wichtiger europäischer Standort von Mars liegt wohl in Viersen bei Düsseldorf.

Jetzt will Mars eine Reihe seiner zentralen Aktivitäten in London konzentrieren. Eine Folge wird sein, dass Menschen von Unterhaching und Viersen nach London umziehen müssen. Manchen Unterhachingern mag das weh tun – für andere wird es eine spannende Herausforderung sein.

Aber das ist halt so in einer globalen Welt und Wirtschaft, die ja die meisten Menschen mögen zu scheinen und zumindest mit ihrem Konsum-Verhalten unterstützen.

Das ist aber nicht das Thema dieses Artikels. Was mich bestürzt, ist die Begründung für den Umzug nach London.


Große Konzerne gehen davon aus, dass in Zukunft die Qualität des Marketing der zentrale Erfolgsschlüssel im Wettbewerb ist.


Dieser erscheint dem Konzern nützlich, ja notwendig, weil er davon ausgeht, dass im Markt der LEBENS-MITTEL nur das Unternehmen sich behaupten wird und vielleicht sogar zulegen kann, das das beste MARKETING macht. Und in den Kreisen des Top-Managements geht man davon aus, dass die effizienten und effektiven Marketing-Firmen halt in London sitzen. So wird deren Nähe gesucht – und man geht nach Great Britain. Trotz Brexit und so, der nach meiner Meinung ja auch mehr so ein Operetten-Ding ist.

LEBENS-MITTEL-Konzerne sind zuerst Mal auf Umsatz und Ergebnis (Profit) getrimmt. Und da ist – in der Wahrnehmung der Konzerne – das MARKETING der entscheidende Erfolgsfaktor. Alles andere wie Qualität der Nahrungsmittel und die Folgen für die Gesundheit spielt nur eine untergeordnete Rolle.


Wirtschaft sollte für die Menschen da sein, nicht die Menschen sind für die Wirtschaft!


Wichtig ist den Konzernen nur eines – die Menschen müssen das billig produzierte Massennahrungsmittel kaufen und zwar für einen möglichst hohen Preis. Damit es der Masse schmeckt, wird es möglichst „convenient“ gemacht und verführerisch dargestellt. Mit opportunen Aroma-Stoffen angereichert wird „the taste of the world“ generiert und durchgesetzt. „Billig“ geht vor Qualität, Aufmachung und Verpackung vor Inhalt, Einfalt vor Vielfalt, Masse vor Klasse, Haltbarkeit vor Frische, logistische Eignung vor Geschmack …

Und so gibt es eine starke LOBBY, die dem Gesetzgeber in Europa und BRD untersagt, dass dieser zum Beispiel eine klare Kennzeichung für gesundheitlich schädliche Produkte einführt.

Und was machen die Menschen? Gar nichts. Sie glauben dem Marketing und kaufen wie Lemminge die Produkte von Mars, Nestlé und Co. Leider auch in Unterhaching.

RMD

 

1 Kommentar zu “Wirtschaft sollte doch für die Menschen da sein?!”

  1. Hans Bonfigt (Mittwoch, der 26. Juli 2017)

    Hallo Roland,

    warum sind wir auch alle so dumm und kaufen den Scheiß, den die amerikanischen Multis anbieten?

    Microsoft, Apple, Coca-Cola, „Facebook“:
    Alles höchst entbehrlich!

Kommentar verfassen

*