Roland Dürre
Sunday January 20th, 2013

Knowledge From Articles – Knowledge From Experts

We live in the age of information inflation. Through twitter, FB, Google+ and other sources, I get many recommendations for articles and videos available on the internet. This is something I very much appreciate, because I often learn amazing things.

Some of the things I learn actually support my prejudices, other things I am skeptical about, not wanting to believe them.

But I do not know if everything I receive, read and hear in this flood of information is correct.

Consequently, I like seeking the opinion of experts. However, those experts must be people I know and believe to be able to judge. I must get the impression that the expert I trust also is in the habit of asking questions about things in private life and that he or she is an enlightened person. And I must be certain that I am dealing with an autonomous person with no tendency towards dogmatism.

After having built up trust towards such a person, I give this person more credit than some article I read. And I am glad if I discover that what he or she says matches what the articles says. Because it means that my source is a good one.

RMD
(Translated by EG)

Kommentar verfassen

*

Roland Dürre
Sonntag, der 20. Januar 2013

Wissen aus Artikeln – Wissen von Experten

Wir leben im Zeitalter der Informationsinflation. Über Twitter, FB, Google+ und aus anderen Quellen bekomme ich viele Hinweise auf Artikel und Videos im Internet. Das schätze ich sehr, erfahre ich da doch oft Erstaunliches. Manches, das meiner Vorurteilsstruktur entgegenkommt und anderes, bei dem ich eher skeptisch bin und ich nicht glauben will.

Aber ob das alles so stimmt, was ich da als Informationsflut so bekomme und lese oder höre, dass weiß ich nicht.

Deshalb suche ich gerne die Meinung von Experten dazu. Das müssen aber Menschen sein, die ich kenne oder die ich meine einschätzen zu können. Ich muss das Gefühl haben, dass der Experte, dem ich vertraue, auch in seinem privaten Leben die Dinge hinterfragt und ein aufgeklärter Mensch ist. Und muss sicher sein, dass er ein autonomer Mensch ist, der nicht zur Dogmatik neigt.

Wenn ich dann so das Vertrauen zu ihm aufgebaut habe, dann glaube ich dem Menschen mehr als den Artikeln, die ich vorher gelesen habe. Und freue mich, wenn es zusammenpasst. Denn dann weiß ich, dass die Quelle etwas taugt.

RMD

Be Sociable, Share!

Kommentar verfassen

*