Roland Dürre
Tuesday May 10th, 2016

Future, Evolution, Transformation & Digital!

One week ago on Saturday evening, we started on our way to Italy, leaving the train on the next morning in Orvieto. It took us three days to get to the congress venue at Castel Gandolfo by bike. Riding our bikes to the Albanian Ocean in the south-west of Rome was a great preparation for the international
“10th NETWORK MEETING OF THE PETER PRIBILLA FOUNDATION (MAY, 4th – MAY, 6th 2016, ROME)” I was lucky enough to be part of.

The workshop was intense and challenging. Consequently, we spent the day afterwards being truly at leisure and indulging in luxury in Labico. Subsequently, we rode our bikes through Italy for three days. The first leg was from Labico to Terracina (around 80 km). Then we continued to Nettuno (about 75 km). From there, only about 50 kilometres were left to ride to Ostia, which meant that we arrived there early in the afternoon and had plenty of time to see the ancient Ostia by bike and generally enjoy Ostia.

During the three days riding through the provinces of Roma and Latina during the wonderful Italian early summer, I had a lot of time for contemplation. It was a truly special meeting.

Tomorrow, our voyage will be at its end. We are going to Rome. There, the night train that is supposed to take us back to Munich by Thursday morning is already waiting for us. Let me write down a few memories of today’s meeting.

Lido di Ostia, von der zentralen Seebrücke aus bewundert und fotografiert.

Lido di Ostia, picture taken and scenery admired from the central ocean bridge :-).

The meeting was sponsored by the “Pribilla-Foundation“ and about “Digital Transformation“: After all, this is a transformation that concerns all of us ever more, making us aware of change that is happening and growing at rapid speed.

The workshop was opened with an impulse presentation by Manfred Broy, who is the director of the Bavarian Digital Centre (Digitales Zentrum.Bayern). He gave a precise “sweeping swipe” on “digitalization”. Based on exciting facts, he pointed out to us what is currently happening. I was allowed to give one of the three (3-minute) short responses to the presentation. Here is a short version of what I said (with a few additions, because three minutes is actually quite a short time):

“The digital transformation will probably have a massive influence on the evolution and our future. It might even help on the way towards finding the necessary great transformation humanity needs badly.”

I came up with a theory on all the terms marked in this sentence – that is: I formulated my “basic beliefs”. Here they are:

  • Future
    As I see it, the future cannot be predicted!
    That is also the first theory formulated by the great and unfortunately already dead management scientist Hans Ulrich from St. Gallen who revolutionized the theory of management in the 1980ies with his essay “Eight Theories on Change in Management”..
    It may well be possible to predict the future correctly once in a wile if you use the tools of science and your common sense. That is: you might receive a “message from the future”. Yet you will never manage to correctly interpret said message.
    To me, the future of humanity can be described using the metaphor of a boat on a river. The river is in the “white area”. The boat moves down the river.
    You can measure the speed at which the river flows and also, for instance, the stream gradient and other data. But still, all those data will only give you limited information on what is going to happen. Using a spy glass to look into the distance will also only be of little help. It is not predictable how the river will continue on its way (will it become broader or will it find its way through a narrow gorge and become a torrential river, will there be a bend or a waterfall or will it suddenly disappear totally underground?).
    And in this metaphor, we do not even know if humanity is the boat or the river (or maybe just a swarm of fish?).
  • Evolution
    Evolution is useless. Perhaps it tries to make sure there will always be life, but we do not know why and for what purpose.
    As I see it, evolution cannot be controlled – just like the future is not predictable. Basically, we cannot install a “steering committee” and tell them ”Please control evolution!”. It simply will not work (just like, incidentally, it does not work with huge enterprises and social systems).
  • Transformation
    I think in a next step, evolution will have to and will undergo another huge transformation. This is necessary if humanity wants to survive. It will come, disregarding the question of whether humanity will continue to live or not. We know nothing about this transformation, except that it will bring basic change and come as a huge surprise. The time for this transformation is ever nearer. It will probably happen within the next few generations.
  • Digital Transformation
    It would be nice if digital transformation could become a positive driver for this great transformation. I see quite a good chance. Even now, the world changes through digitalization – and in my opinion said change is for the better.
    The friendly persons build networks, the combination of digital + social makes it possible to cooperate constructively in a way that was hardly possible in former times. Thanks to the “digital” world, something like “enlightenment 2.0” develops. To me, this looks to be more important than the “buzzword” of “industry 4.0” which, after all, is only “normal” technological progress.

What remains is the question: how can we contribute towards digitalization changing the world in a positive way?

Of course, I do not know the answer. It is my belief that we should not talk too much but instead act. Every one of us should act in his own specific way, following his personal inclination. And we all should do it together and connect with all the ”friendly persons” in our society – for instance those persons I actually met in huge numbers at the nice meeting in wonderful surroundings!

RMD
(Translated by EG)

P.S.
During the meeting, I mentioned a book that might actually help you a little to understand how totally different even our “small” children think – and how helpless the ancient concepts of thinking and teaching and education have become.
(Re-Invent Yourself! A Declaration of Love for the Network Generation by Michel Serres).

4 Kommentare zu “Future, Evolution, Transformation & Digital!”

  1. Zukunft, Evolution, Transformation & digital! | Initiative Wirtschaftsdemokratie (Wednesday May 11th, 2016)

    […] Entnommen aus meinem Artikel: Zukunft, Evolution, Transformation & digital! […]

  2. Martin Bartonitz (Wednesday May 11th, 2016)

    Lieber Roland,

    ist das so OK für Dich:
    http://wirdemo.de/2016/05/11/die-digitale-transformation-duerfte-die-evolution/

    VG Martin

  3. rd (Thursday May 12th, 2016)

    Klar! Schreibe auch gerne mal wieder für wirdemo. Vielleicht versuche ich zu begründen, wie auch sozialer Fortschritt durch Vernetzung und Zusammenkommen verschiedener Disziplinen entsteht – am Beispiel der Stadt und der vernetzten Städte. Aber zuerst mal vielen Dank für die Veröffentlichung ganz in meinem Sinne! Roland

  4. Chris Wood (Monday May 23rd, 2016)

    You want the Transformation to be positive. But how is “positive” defined? All religions and philosophies have wanted “positive for us”, but who are “us”? This has gradually extended. For instance, Jesus extended it to include Gentiles. About the furthest one can go is to include all living beings, but then one sees that they are necessarily in conflict. What is positive for some is negative for others. In the last analysis, only (intelligent?) selfishness makes sense.

Kommentar verfassen

*

Roland Dürre
Dienstag, der 10. Mai 2016

Zukunft, Evolution, Transformation & digital!

Am Samstag Abend vor einer Woche sind wir nach Italien aufgebrochen und am Morgen in Orvieto ausgestiegen. Drei Tage haben wir mit dem Rad zum Tagungsort Castel Gandolfo gebraucht. Die Tour zum Albaner See südwestlich um Rom herum war eine tolle Vorbereitung auf das international besetzte
„10th NETWORK MEETING OF THE PETER PRIBILLA FOUNDATION (MAY, 4th – MAY, 6th 2016, ROME)“, bei dem ich dabei sein durfte.

Die Tagung war intensiv und fordernd. So waren wir im Anschluß erstmal einen Tag richtig faul und haben uns in Labico dem Luxus hingegeben. Anschließend sind wir drei Tage durch Italien geradelt. Die erste Tour ging von Labico nach Terracina (zirka 80 km). Dann ging es weiter nach Nettuno (zirka 75 km). Nach Ostia waren es dann von Nettuno nur noch gut 50 km, so dass wir schon am frühen Nachmittag angekommen sind und noch Zeit hatten, das antike Ostia mit dem Rad zu besuchen und Ostia allgemein zu genießen.

Auf den drei Tagestouren durch den wunderbaren Frühsommer Italiens  durch die Provinzen Roma und Latina hatte ich viel Zeit, das Erlebte zu reflektieren. Es war in der Tag ein besonderes Treffen.

Morgen ist unsere Tour zu Ende, es geht nach Rom. Dort wartet der Nachtzug, der uns am Donnerstag früh in München absetzen soll. So möchte ich heute noch ein paar Erinnerungen vom Treffen aufschreiben.

Lido di Ostia, von der zentralen Seebrücke aus bewundert und fotografiert.

Lido di Ostia, von der zentralen Seebrücke aus bewundert und fotografiert :-).

Das Treffen der „Pribilla-Foundation“ stand im Zeichen der „Digitalen Transformation“, die uns immer mehr erfasst, bewußt wird und ein enormes Tempo vorlegt.

Eröffnet wurde die Tagung  von einem Impulsvortrag Manfred Broys, dem Vorsitzenden des Digitales Zentrum.Bayern. In einem präzisen „Rundumschlag“ erläuterte er das Thema „Digitalisierung“. Basierend auf spannenden Fakten machte er klar, was da eigentlich passiert. Ich durfte eine der drei Kurzanmerkungen (3 Minuten) zu diesem Vortrag halten. Hier die Zusammenfassung meines Beitrages, ein wenig ergänzt, denn 3 Minuten sind arg kurz:

„Die digitale Transformation dürfte die Evolution und unsere Zukunft massiv beeinflussen. Vielleicht hilft sie, die notwendige Große Transformation zu schaffen, die die Menschheit dringend braucht.“

Zu jedem der in diesem Satz genutzten Begriffe habe ich eine These aufgestellt, sprich meine „basic believes“ formuliert. Hier sind sie:

  • Zukunft
    Ich meine, dass Zukunft nicht vorhersagbar ist!
    Das ist auch die erste These des für mich großen und leider schon verstorbenen Management-Wissenschaftlers Hans Ulrich aus St. Gallen, der in den 80iger-Jahren mit seinem Aufsatz „8 Thesen zum Wandel im Management“ die Lehre vom Management revolutionierte.
    Es mag zwar möglich sein, wenn man die Werkzeuge der Wissenschaft mit gesundem Menschenverstand anwendet, ab und zu Vorhersagen für die Zukunft zu machen, die richtig sind. Also eine Art von „Botschaft aus der Zukunft“ zu empfangen, die zu korrekt zu interpretieren aber nie gelingt.
    Mir scheint, dass die Zukunft der Menschheit mit der Metapher eines Bootes auf einem Fluss beschrieben werden kann. Der Fluß fließt in „weißes Gebiet“. Das Boot bewegt sich flußabwärts auf dem Fluss.
    Die Flussgeschwindigkeit des Flusses kann man messen wie auch z.B. sein Gefälle und weitere Daten. Daraus lassen sich aber nur sehr begrenzte Schlüsse ziehen, wie es wohl weiter geht. Mit dem Fernglas als Werkzeug kann man ein wenig in die Ferne sehen, aber auch das hilft nur sehr eingeschränkt.
    Der weitere Verlauf des Flusses (wird er breiter oder geht es reißend durch eine enge Schlucht, kommt eine Kehre oder ein Wasserfall oder versickert der Fluß plötzlich im Boden?) ist nicht vorhersagbar.
    Und in dieser Metapher wissen wir nicht einmal, ob die Menschheit das Boot auf dem Fluß oder das Wasser des Flusses ist (oder vielleicht nur ein Fischschwarm?).
  • Evolution
    Evolution hat keinen Zweck. Vielleicht versucht das Leben so sein Überleben zu sichern, wir wissen aber nicht warum und wieso.
    Ich meine, dass – so wie die Zukunft nicht vorhersagbar ist – kann auch die Evolution nicht gesteuert werden. Wir können eben kein „steering committee“ aufstellen und sagen „Bitte steuert die Evolution!“. Das wird nicht funktionieren (so wie es in den großen Unternehmen und sozialen Systemen übrigens auch nicht funktioniert).
  • Transformation
    Ich meine, dass die Evolution als nächsten Schritt wieder mal eine große Transformation machen muss und wird. Die ist notwendig, wenn es mit der Menschheit weiter gehen soll. Sie wird kommen – ganz gleich ob die Menschheit dann weiterleben oder aussterben wird. Wir wissen nichts über diese Transformation, außer dass sie eine für uns wesentliche Veränderungen bringen dürfte und uns wahrscheinlich stark überraschen wird. Der Zeitpunkt für diese Transformation kommt immer näher und dürfte schon in wenigen Generation passieren.
  • Die digitale Transformation
    Es wäre schön, wenn die digitale Transformation zu einem positiven Treiber dieser großen Transformation werden würde. Ich sehe da eine gute Chance. Schon jetzt verändert sich die Welt durch Digitalisierung – wie ich finde – zum Besseren.
    Die freundlichen Menschen vernetzen sich, die Kombination digital+sozial ermöglicht ein konstruktives Miteinander wie es früher kaum möglich war. Dank der „digitalen“ Welt entwickelt sich so etwas wie eine „Aufklärung 2.0“, die mir wichtiger zu sein scheint als das „buzzword“ von der „Industrie 4.0“, die ja nur „normaler“ digitaler technischer Fortschritt ist.

Bleibt die Frage, was wir beitragen können, dass Digitalisierung die Welt positiv verändert?

Ich weiß es natürlich auch nicht. Mein Glaube hierzu ist, dass wir nicht zu viel Reden sollten sondern Handeln müssen. Jeder auf seine Art und Weise, so wie er es am besten kann. Und dies im Verbund und Netzwerk mit den „freundlichen Menschen“ unserer Gesellschaft, wie ich sie auch auf der schönen Veranstaltung in wunderbarer Umgebung tatsächlich so zahlreich kennen gelernt habe!

RMD

P.S.
Auf der Tagung habe ich ein Buch erwähnt, das vielleicht ein wenig helfen kann, eine Ahnung zu bekommen, wie ganz anders schon unsere „kleinen“ Kinder denken – und wie hilflos das alte Denken in Schulung und Bildung dem gegenüber steht (

Erfindet Euch neu! Eine Liebeserklärung an die vernetzte Generation. von Michel Serres.

4 Kommentare zu “Zukunft, Evolution, Transformation & digital!”

  1. Zukunft, Evolution, Transformation & digital! | Initiative Wirtschaftsdemokratie (Mittwoch, der 11. Mai 2016)

    […] Entnommen aus meinem Artikel: Zukunft, Evolution, Transformation & digital! […]

  2. Martin Bartonitz (Mittwoch, der 11. Mai 2016)

    Lieber Roland,

    ist das so OK für Dich:
    http://wirdemo.de/2016/05/11/die-digitale-transformation-duerfte-die-evolution/

    VG Martin

  3. rd (Donnerstag, der 12. Mai 2016)

    Klar! Schreibe auch gerne mal wieder für wirdemo. Vielleicht versuche ich zu begründen, wie auch sozialer Fortschritt durch Vernetzung und Zusammenkommen verschiedener Disziplinen entsteht – am Beispiel der Stadt und der vernetzten Städte. Aber zuerst mal vielen Dank für die Veröffentlichung ganz in meinem Sinne! Roland

  4. Chris Wood (Montag, der 23. Mai 2016)

    You want the Transformation to be positive. But how is „positive“ defined? All religions and philosophies have wanted „positive for us“, but who are „us“? This has gradually extended. For instance, Jesus extended it to include Gentiles. About the furthest one can go is to include all living beings, but then one sees that they are necessarily in conflict. What is positive for some is negative for others. In the last analysis, only (intelligent?) selfishness makes sense.

Kommentar verfassen

*