Robert Kulzer
Wednesday September 23rd, 2009

MIKI – how about some horizontal scrolling?

The neologism MIKI is derived from a combination of magazine and Wiki. It describes a portal on which the user or users can design an online magazine on a topic. Then they can publish it, for instance, through blogs, websites or RSS feeds.

The idea behind Intelli-Media was to develop a platform-independent web application anybody could use for his or her personal magazine. Technological background knowledge (HTML, Ajax, Flash, etc.) is not necessary.

The multimedia portal based on Adobe Flash enables the hobby editor to generate a slide show beautified by images, videos and texts in no time. There is hardly any limit to the topics you might select. Well – unacceptable articles can be reported at any time.

Thanks to the intuitive handling of the portal, the reader will manage it easily. Here is an example for you to see I am not exaggerating:

Please note that you will only see anything useful after having installed a current flash version. Maybe you want to use a separate window/tab on your browser in order to enjoy the Miki in all its splendour?

The mostly colour-intensive slides may sometimes cause longer loading times. However, this is not a problem with broad band connections.

The less than perfect graphics acceleration for flash in Unix-based systems (Linux, Mac OS) might put a damper on your enthusiasm as far as fast scrolling is concerned. Windows-users, however, can enjoy the constantly growing number of Mikis at their heart’s delight.

The free service is a great way for sending your vacation pictures, presentations, fashion recommendations, etc. to friends, acquaintances and the entire world. Short slide shows, in particular, can be easily created.

It remains to be seen if Web 2.0 fans and similar folks will decide to use the service. Thanks to the embedding function, however, my-miki.com can be easily combined with, for instance, WordPress.

So all that remains for me to say is: Have fun while experimenting with it!

rok
(Translated by EG)

Kommentar verfassen

*

Robert Kulzer
Mittwoch, der 23. September 2009

MIKI – also doch lieber horizontales Scrolling?

Die neue Wortschöpfung MIKI kommt von Magazin und Wiki. Dahinter verbirgt sich ein Portal, mit dem der oder die Benutzer ein Online-Magazin zu einem bestimmten Thema entwerfen und über beispielsweise Blogs, Webseiten oder durch RSS Feeds verbreiten.

Die Idee von Intelli-Media war es eine plattformunabhängige Webapplikation zu entwickeln, mit der jeder sein persönliches Magazin erstellen kann, ohne über technisches Hintergrundwissen (HTML, Ajax, Flash, usw.) zu verfügen.

Das auf Adobe Flash basierende Multimediaportal lässt den Hobbyredakteur innerhalb kurzer Zeit eine mit Bilder, Videos und Texten aufgepeppte Slideshow erstellen. Dabei sind den Themengebieten fast keine Grenzen gesetzt, ja – inakzeptable Beiträge können jederzeit gemeldet werden.

Dank der intuitiven Bedienbarkeit findet sich der Leser schnell zurecht. Um das unter Beweis zu stellen hier mal ein Beispiel zum ausprobieren:

Ihr seht jedoch nur nur was, wenn ihr eine aktuelle Flash Version installiert habt. Um das Miki in seiner ganzen Pracht zu genießen bietet sich ein eigenes Fenster/Tab im Browser an.

Die meist bildbetonten Folien können etwas längere Ladezeiten nach sich ziehen. Bei Breitbandanschlüssen ist dies jedoch kein Problem mehr.

Dank mangelnder Grafikbeschleundigung für Flash unter unixbasierten Systemen (Linux, Mac OS) ist der Spaß am raschen durchscrollen etwas getrübt. Der Windows User kann aber die immer größer werdende Anzahl an Mikis flüssig genießen.

Der kostenlose Dienst ist eine prima Möglichkeit seine Urlaubsbilder, Präsentationen, Modetipps, usw. an Freunde, Bekannte und wer will an die ganze Welt weiterzugeben. Vor allem kurze Foliensätze lassen sich schnell und einfach kreieren.

Ob sich die Web 2.0 Anhänger für Reisetagebücher und der gleichen für diesen Dienst entscheiden bleibt abzuwarten. Danke der Einbettungsfunktion lässt sich my-miki.com aber wunderbar mit beispielsweise WordPress kombinieren.

Bleibt mir nur noch euch viel Spass beim rumexperimentieren zu wünschen.

Kommentar verfassen

*